US May '09 unemployment % in, are you employed?

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by spaceboots06, Jul 3, 2009.

?

Employed?

1. No!

20 vote(s)
    28.2%
  2. Yes!

51 vote(s)
    71.8%
  1. spaceboots06 macrumors 6502a

spaceboots06

2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

iThink we are probably in a crisis. I am a partially-employed student, making me ineligible for that number.

I didn't realize Republican was a location?

3. Ntombi macrumors 68030

Ntombi

You need more options in the poll. There are those who aren't employed, but aren't looking (student, disabled, retired, wealthy), and those who are underemployed, which is actually a larger problem than can be quantified with current methodologies.

4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

myself and just about everyone else i know is in this category. sucks because there is nothing to be done about it, just happy to have some sort of minimal income that isn't even livable for most of my friends.

5. blackfox macrumors 65816

blackfox

Personally, I found a stopgap job when I moved states a couple years ago, planning on finding a better one once I got settled. Of course, then our current economic situation reared it's head.

Frankly, I consider myself lucky. Though I am underemployed by virtue of my education, I still make about $40K/yr and am single, so that is more than enough to weather the storm...

We'll see what happens over the next year or so...luckily, working at a bar (current job), is nearly recession-proof - my business has met or exceeded that of pre-recession times.

6. bobfitz14 macrumors 65816

bobfitz14

17 years old (student) and cannot find a job anywhere

7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

When I was in hs and college, it was really tough for me to find work, and when i did it was like retail, dealerships type of thing

this was back when the economy was booming too

8. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

Join the club.