Use Bootcamp as a VM for VWware fusion 3 or not? iMac with 6GB of RAM

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jaybar, May 22, 2010.

  1. jaybar macrumors 6502a

    jaybar

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #1
    Hi

    I have an new 21.5" Imac with 6GM of RAM. I do NOT game. I currently have VMware set up with a virtual macine w/o Bootcamp.

    Is there any advantage to haveing a Bootcamp VM?

    Can I have both?

    Should I allocate 3GB of RAM for the bootcamp VM?

    Thanks

    jay
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    BootCamp ≠ VM

    Virtualization demands more from the computer but unless you do some heavy tasks on Windows, you'll be fine. You can install BootCamp as well if you want to run Windows natively.
     
  3. yukio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #3
    sure, you can have both on the same machine.... your VMware virtual machines are limited by disk space more than anything else.

    if you have a bootcamp partition you can run it from inside of VMware as your Windows installation.

    but as long as you're only needing concurrent Windows/Mac usage i can't think of anything that a bootcamp partition would contribute.

    unfortunately, the VMware migration tool can migrate from a bootcamp partition to a standalone VM, but not the other way around - at least from what i can see.

    you don't mention what apps you need to run, or which version of Windows - but XP's fine in 1; my Windows 7 instance gets allocated 2GB - but I only use it for one pretty simple app.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Parallels does it and so does VMware
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Neither of those V2P processes are supported/simple or guaranteed to work. Possible, yes, but a far cry from the P2V migration tools supported by Parallels/VMWare.

    B
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    I never said it's going to be easy ;) It's possible but obviously not the easiest thing to do. Hopefully there will be migration tool for VM to BootCamp in the future
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    ;) Having considered a V2P migration with VMWare and read the tech guide you linked to, I decided I was better off doing a clean install even if it meant buying another license. The Parallels based "howto" seems even worse.

    B
     

Share This Page