Users of Throttlestop, how to disable turbo

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rockyroad55, Sep 6, 2012.

  1. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #1
    I haven't figured out how to disable turbo. I can't click the box for disabling turbo. Any help?
     
  2. Speedy Gonzalez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Alligator Bayou
    #2
    Sorry but people here is only open to debate :D

    to disable turbo go to power settings advance and set your CPU power state lower than 100% any value don't matter it will disable turbo ;)
     
  3. benjones macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #3
    Tick Set Multiplier - Set to Turbo - Tick Disable Turbo.
     
  4. Speedy Gonzalez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Alligator Bayou
  5. benjones macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  7. Dyno-Mike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Lower CPU temperatures during gaming and lower power consumption. This also stops my rMBP from stuttering during games.

    Depending on the game my framerate is pretty much the same as having it enabled (at least in my experience)
     
  8. Speedy Gonzalez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Alligator Bayou
    #8
    it makes a big difference in temps playing games up to 10C lower CPU and 5C GPU and it doesn't affect frames in most of the games even open world ones

    The CPU is sooo powerful that even disabling turbo the bottleneck is on the GPU
     
  9. flipnap macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
  10. thomaskc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #10
    Would love to see some actual numbers on this. Like cpu benchmarks and ingame benchmarks to compare, because I highly doubt there is "no" difference, but as some mentioned, it might be worth it compared to the lower power/heat.... turbo boost in general is a great thing though.
     
  11. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #11
    Also disable hyperthreading. Run on 4 pure cores. Better yet just disable the CPU.
     
  12. ibebyi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #12
    I can confirm that by disabling turbo you're given far more thermal headroom for the GPU by about 10-15 degrees celsius. Considering the GPU and CPU share the same heatsink and are spaced less than two inches apart, it only makes sense that the temperature of the CPU influences GPU temperature (pretty heavily).

    I've noticed that games like Just Cause 2, Bioshock (yes it's an older game), GTAIV, Crysis, SCII, ArmaII, are all pretty heavily CPU-bound games, and as such, you'll see drops in fps when you lower your multiplier in Throttlestop. However, even if left at stock values for the sake of a higher fps, the CPU's temp will rise to around 88-89C while gaming, which would raise the temp of the GPU to above the 74C mark and subsequently cause GPU throttling-related stutter. When you lock the multiplier to say, oh idk 23-25x, these same games raise the CPU temperature to only about 77-80C, again allowing for more GPU thermal headroom.

    I think this throttling issue stems largely from the fact that the CPU and GPU have different Tjunctions, and likewise rise in temperature up to the Tjunction relative to the load. So if the CPU is loaded up with Crysis, it's going to start hitting the 90C mark and heating up the GPU. I've read through anecdotal evidence that the Tjunction for the 650m is much lower than the CPU, with some forum posters @ guru3d suggesting to keep Kepler cards under 80C.
     
  13. rockyroad55 thread starter macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #13
    Doesn't work
     
  14. Speedy Gonzalez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Alligator Bayou
    #14
    You don't need throttlestop to do this just create a power profile to do this go to control panel/Power options/click on balanced and change plan settings/Change Advance power settings a little window will pop out expand processor power management and set maximum processor state to 95% hit apply and close the window now you can switch between power plans to enable-disable turbo

    I don't know why people is using throttlestop if not overclocking you don't need a bunch of programs running all the time the only programs mine is running while gaming is motionjoy for my PS3 controller and Lubbos fan control to max out the fan speed
     
  15. Dyno-Mike, Sep 7, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2012

    Dyno-Mike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #15
    For those wanting to compare the difference between CPU turbo enabled vs disabled i have uploaded 2 pics with overlays on to show the fps and temps.

    Skyrim running at 1920x1200 on ultra with no AA

    Here is TB enabled:

    TESV 2012-09-07 15-53-46-89tb enabled.jpg

    and TB disabled:

    TESV 2012-09-07 16-00-16-51tb disabled.jpg

    Both were running for 15 minutes before i took the screenshot.

    The fans are set to run normally on the first 2 tests (no lubbos etc)



    Lastly, a screenshot with lubbos fan control running and TB disabled. (again after 15 minutes in-game):

    TESV 2012-09-07 17-36-11-10.jpg

    look how cool it can be AND with minimal FPS loss.
     
  16. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Minimal frame loss standing still doesn't necessarily transpire to actual game play. How does it compare when action is on the screen?
     
  17. imperialnavy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #17
    Why dont you try the same thing near that Heartwood Mill? I found that due to all the vegetation, this is a very fps intensive area.

    Just type into the console : coc heartwoodmillexterior
    I am rather curious on how it performs there...and how the temps are there.
    Personally i dont even understand why most people use Whiterun for testing, as that location isnt even fps intensive..:p
     
  18. Dyno-Mike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #18
    Here you go 1920x1200 no AA or mods

    The fps are between 35-45fps with turbo disabled. ive ran around the area attacking the people and the frames remain consistant never dipping below 30

    This shot is after 10 mins in-game so temperatures are about the max they get to:

    TESV 2012-09-09 10-21-30-37.jpg
     
  19. imperialnavy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #19
    That looks quite good already! :) I am curious, what would happen if you tried the same thing with the "The Wilds ENB" mod and 2880X1800
    Would it be like 20fps then? If its not asked too much, could you try that for me? :)


    About the temperatures, you used Fancontrol, yes?
     
  20. Dyno-Mike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #20
    Yes fans were controlled by lubbos. Set to max out once temp reaches 80. (Which it never does with tb disabled)

    Ill install the mod and report back
     

Share This Page