Using the 11 inch and 13 inch from an amateur's point of view

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by cityathrt, Jul 30, 2011.

1. cityathrt macrumors regular

**I know there have been a lot of related threads on the forums, but I'm hoping to offer a perspective from your average amateur user, because I formed one conclusion based on what I'd read, and ended up with another entirely. Please feel free to skip over my thread if you're utterly bored by these topics. I'm not a developer or do any code, just a young professional going back for her master's next year. I have high standards for my tech gadgets, wanting them to combine the latest technology in an attractive form. I use my laptop to browse the internet, Word + Excel + Powerpoint, watch lots of media + Asian TV, music score composing software, the occasional game such as Warcraft 3, Titan Quest, Spore, etc.

I've been rabidly pouring over the forums since the latest MBAs have come out, and as some might have read from a recent thread, went to the Apple store with the full intention of getting a 13" from everything I've read on here, but.. actually walked out with a 11 inch yesterday! My original intentions were completely wiped out when I started seriously looking at the 11 inch. Shorter height, check. But it just didn't seem to be so much of a problem as I felt I'd understood when reading the forums.

I got home in the early evening last night, fully intending to get an early nights sleep (intentions being knocked askew are going to be a common theme...), but actually didn't go to sleep until 1:30 am because I was playing with my new (and first) Mac. I've been slightly musing though, afraid that I was missing out on something, so just came home with a 13 inch, and decided to do a side by side comparison (from my purely amateurish point of view).