Various Canon Rebel XT (350D) Questions & foto connection

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by steamboat26, Aug 22, 2007.

1. steamboat26 macrumors 65816

steamboat26

I have a Sony Cybershot DSC-P200 and have been looking into getting a Digital SLR. After a little research, the Canon Rebel XT seems to be a good match for me. I am a relative beginner and many people seem to recommend this camera for newbies. Photography is one of my favorite hobbies, and I love to take close up pictures of leaves/flowers/objects, and my cybershot just won't cut it for these shots.
    Just a couple of questions-
    Are there any other similarly priced D-SLRs I should also be looking at?
    I noticed that this camera came out it 2005, is there a potential update coming soon?
    A lot of reviews complain that the Rebel XT is too small and not very sturdy? Does anyone have any similar complaints about it?
    I don't know that much about the technicalities of digital photography, so first of all- is there a newbie guide someone could point me to?
    Where can I buy cheapish (sub $200) lenses that are better than the EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 Lens that comes bundled with the camera?

Side note, but still related- has anyone ever used http://www.fotoconnection.com?
    The price for the Rebel XT is considerably lower than places like newegg, I'm not sure whether its a scam or what.

2. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

The Canon Rebel XTi (400D) is the update to the XT released in August 2006. It has more megapixels than the XT and a few other new features

3. introspectrum macrumors member

hi steamboat.