Verizon iPhone 5 - 3G to LTE question.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Hooterville, Apr 2, 2013.

  1. Hooterville macrumors 6502a

    Hooterville

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #1
    Have the Verizon iPhone 5 and live out in the woods where the phone usually has 2-3 bars of 3G. Lately the LTE symbol with come up instead of the 3G.

    Is it possible Verizon is adding LTE out here in the woods or is it just the phone doing crazy things?
     
  2. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #2
    It's possible that they're testing LTE in your area. Doubtful your phone is going to just randomly think a stray signal is LTE. IT would have to send a response to the network and get one back before telling you that it's operating on an LTE network.
     
  3. Hooterville thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Hooterville

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #3
    Thanks. It only stays on LTE for a minute or so and they goes back to 3G.
    I hope they are testing LTE here in the woods. :eek:
     
  4. MEJHarrison macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #4
    You could always ask Verizon. Seems like you'd get a better answer than we can give you.
     
  5. Hooterville thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Hooterville

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #5
    Called Verizon many of times in the past and I can get better information out of a dead tree then a Verizon rep. :)
     
  6. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    They're probably working on it and improving it. I used to get wild switches between 3G, LTE, and 1x in my apartment when I first got my iPhone 5 back in December. Now it's LTE all the time. Only one bar of signal but still LTE.
     
  7. avanpelt macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #7
    Verizon LTE is rolling out very aggressively. A couple of weeks ago, I was in the foothills of the Smokies miles away from a town or main road and I still had Verizon LTE coverage.
     

Share This Page