Carrier Verizon Unlimited Data Upgrade Available on Website

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by erure, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. erure, Sep 28, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2013

    erure macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #1
    I went on Verizon Wireless website today and saw that you can upgrade your phone and keep the unlimited data plan. I pre-ordered the Note 3 for my stepfather and it worked -- it says unlimited data for 29.99 on the order confirmation email. I don't know if this is a deliberate decision of the company to allow for this or if it is a website error, but I suggest people take advantage of this immediately in case they take it back. Also make sure you keep screenshots and the order confirmation email for evidence lol. I'm going to return my iPhone 5s to the apple store and repurchase it through Verizon -- I wanted a gold one instead of my silver one anyway haha.

    edit: The unlimited data discounted upgrade glitch is no longer working. For those of us that took a leap of faith, let's hope Verizon will honor the terms of our orders/pre-orders.

    edit: VERIZON WILL HONOR THE DISCOUNTED UPGRADES AND LET US KEEP UNLIMITED. BEST NEWS EVER!
     
  2. erure thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #2
    Here's the order confirmation email I received.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Vizio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
  4. user-name-here macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #4
    :eek:

    Seems like a system glitch. Can anyone else here confirm?
     
  5. JoshGlzBrk macrumors 6502a

    JoshGlzBrk

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
  6. Namji macrumors 6502a

    Namji

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #6
    Doesn't matter vow advertises unlimited and they will have to honor it as long as the contract is renewed on this basis.
     
  7. aneftp macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #7
    Others have confirmed this on slick deals and Howard forums
    http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php/1812091-Upgrade-and-keep-Unlimited-Data-glitch-working-now

    I don't think it a glitch. Verizon knows what's it doing.

    The number of unlimited users on verizon has slowly been declining. Verizon would rather lock more people into 2 year contracts and let unlimited continue for those few with unlimited.
     
  8. JoshGlzBrk macrumors 6502a

    JoshGlzBrk

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #8
    No they don't. Data plans are features on the line. Features can be added, removed, and changed at will. They are not under contract.

    If Verizon wanted to, they could switch all unlimited users to a limited plan right now even if they're still in a contract.


    As for OP, the unlimited plan does not drop off until a subsidized device is activated on a line with an unlimited plan. If the OP had transferred the upgrade to another line on their family plan (if they have one) and then activate it on that other line, unlimited data would have been preserved. And then you could just switch the phone to your line after.

    But I can confirm, whatever glitch this is, does indeed seem to be working in regards to allowing you to select unlimited.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. erure thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #9
    Yeah I don't know if it's a website glitch or if it's a deliberate decision made by Verizon to allow for this, but I already went for it and if they take away my unlimited, well, I'll just return it within the 2 weeks and eat the restocking fee. It's worth the risk imo.
     
  10. mac.cali macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #10
    Nice find. Hopefully it sticks! If not you can call them on their error. Hopefully unlimited data doesn't go anywhere anytime soon.
     
  11. erure thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #11
    Oh, P.S. this glitch or whatever it is does not apply to apple store website. If I had to decide between the two, I'd buy from apple directly any day, but they force you to pick a different data plan.
     
  12. Namji macrumors 6502a

    Namji

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
  13. TSX macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    By renewing your contract with unlimited data they have to honor it, just like they expect you to honor your 2 year commitment to them.
     
  14. JoshGlzBrk macrumors 6502a

    JoshGlzBrk

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #14
    Something else that's interesting to note. They are now allowing you to select the old style individual/family plans rather than share everything when creating a new account.

    [​IMG]


    You just have to uncheck the box that says "Share voice and data" and hit next and it gives you this:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. mac.cali macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
  16. cnotes2019 Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #16
    Ugh !!!! What to do!!!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
     
  17. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #17
    Verizon Unlimited Data Upgrade Available on Website

    This is amazing, why do you suppose they are allowing this?

    Shoot I might get a 5C now.
     
  18. Nukemkb macrumors 6502a

    Nukemkb

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #18
    I get "page unavailable" when trying to upgrade. Hmmmm.
     
  19. Fdfan100 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    #19
    I think they patched it, folks over on the android said it not working anymore.
     
  20. xlost6 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #20
    Ha! Bait and switch? Probably a glitch but not a chance VERIZON!!! Nice try.
     
  21. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #21
    I just tried to order a 5C and it said I would have to en my UD plan and chose a tiered data plan.

    I think it's done folks. Nothing to see here.
     
  22. erure thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #22
    Hrm. I tried it on another line and it still works for me. I called up my local Verizon store and the person I spoke to was absolutely clueless about the whole thing; she just kept telling me that it has to be a mistake and that it'll probably switch to 2gb automatically when you activate. I'm still going to keep my order and see what happens. I'll keep you guys updated when my stepfather's Galaxy Note 3 arrives.
     
  23. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #23
    Perhaps this glitch is only working for certain phones? So far I have only seen this working on Notes.
     
  24. erure thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #24
    Maybe it's only working for certain lines? It worked for my stepfather who's using a Droid RAZR and it worked for me (my case is kind of weird because I'm using a 5s and I "upgraded" to a 5s, planning on returning the 5s soon). :confused:
     
  25. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #25
    [​IMG]

    This sucks. Doesn't work for me. My contract was ended a month ago.

    Still have UD though and a solid 4S. Could be worse.

    ----------

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page