Very very tempted to get the MBA 2.13 SSD - just have a few Q's first..

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by sparkie7, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    At the price these are going for I'm HIGHLY tempted. I feel I shouldn't b/c of the 2GB RAM and minimal ports and should go with the MBPs.

    But I just love the form factor, silver bezel and lightweight portability.

    My Q's for you MBA aficionados as follows:

    1. Can the MBA drive a 30" ACD? (i think it can with the MDP to DLDVI adapter - but any flicker issues?)

    2. The single USB port - is there a recommended USB multi-port, and are there complications with hooking up too many devices to this single USB port? eg, hooking up a USB ethernet adapter and other devices, is there a limit or overload of bandwidth?

    3. Does a USB to Firewire 800 (or 400) adapter exist? If so, is Target disk mode available? What is the max throughput?

    4. Is the hinge still plague these machines, or has this issue been fixed

    5. Is the  SSD slow? - seems there is quite a lot of talk about replacing the standard SSD with a Runcore SSD. Its a pity you cant buy the 2.13 model with a HD so one can replace it without losing too much money on a redundant HD.

    6. Any other usage/operational issue I should be aware of? Over heating, noisy fans?

    Thanks in advance guys :D
     
  2. sanPietro98 macrumors 6502a

    sanPietro98

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Location:
    28.416834,-81.581214
    #2
    1. I have flicker issues with a revB MBA on my Apple LED Cinema Display as well as a VGA Monitor (using the VGA adapter) when both are set to 1920x1600. This occurs on two different monitors -- so it's not a monitor issue. I have found that the integrated graphics chip has trouble sometimes with higher resolutions. If I reduce the resolution, no flickers whatsoever.

    2. Some MBA-specific USB devices may not work with hubs, such as the Ethernet adapter and the Superdrive. But both work if you connect them to Apple's LED Cinema Display.

    5. Compared to a HDD, the SSD is very fast on the MBA. It actually "hides" some of the lower speeds of the machine.

    6. My MBA does not overheat, but expect the fans to spin up often when you're doing moderate workloads. "Noisy" is relative, so it depends.

    I hope this helps. The MBA is a nice machine, but the high-resolution monitor flicker has been driving me crazy! That's my biggest beef with the machine.
     
  3. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for the feedback sanPietro98. Is the latest MBA (2.13GHz) the Rev B?

    As for the flicker issues, I had the same on my Mac Pro with one of my 30" ACDs connected via a Mini display port Dual Link DVI adapter. Every 20-30 mins it would flicker. After 3 months I brought it back to the Apple store and swapped it for another one. Since then its worked with no more flicker issues.

    So I'm thinking its some bad batches. Maybe you want to return yours and try another one. I have read several of Scottsdale's posts and he seems to think a MBA hooked to a 30 ACD works perfect.
     
  4. sanPietro98 macrumors 6502a

    sanPietro98

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Location:
    28.416834,-81.581214
    #4
    The latest MBAs being sold are considered rev C.

    I might try to get my flicker issue fixed -- I'm always afraid that the repair or replacement will just break something else.

    At work, I tried a MBPro on a high-resolution monitor when using the integrated graphics chip and it flickers occasionally. When I use the MBPro's dedicated graphics card, the flickering stops. Since the MBA and MBPro use the same chip, I really think the flickering us due to these graphics chips.
     
  5. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #5
    I love the MBA (Rev A, 1.8/SSD). I think it's hard not to, unless you need to connect lots of peripheral devices etc. It's a beautiful machine to use, and SSD really does make all the difference - I find performance of opening apps etc to be much quicker than on much more powerful Macs with a HDD.

    I just had my screen/top case replaced due to the hinge issue. We also have a Rev B and the hinge on that is, touch wood, fine. To be honest I think this one would have been, you just have to be gentle with it and this one took some punishment in its first year.

    This one (Rev A) also developed a very noisy fan, but that was replaced, too. The Rev B again has had no such issue.

    These things are just stunning, I wish everyone could have one.
     
  6. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #6
    Perhaps Rev C MBA's fixed the flicker? What model MBP do you have?

    I have my 30 ACD hooked to a 4870 card on my Mac Pro and since I swapped the defective MDP-DL-DVI adapter its been working flicker-less ever since. So Id get a straight swap if you are still in your 12 months warranty period. You have nothing to lose and I can't see why you should be afraid of breaking something
     
  7. PsyD4Me macrumors 6502a

    PsyD4Me

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    under your bed
    #7
    the only thing that i have to get used is the keyboard. It;s not as smooth as MBP and it mine also squeeks way too much, otherwise this thing is a little powerhouse, even runs SPSS without a hiccup.
     
  8. coast1ja macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #8
    I agree. The MBA is plenty for me. I work with large organizational data sets (60,000 cases by 1000 variables) in SPSS without a hitch! It handles data analyses faster than my PC desktop at work!
     
  9. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #9
    i'll just add, I can run a mouse, 2 external harddrives and the ethernet thingy/iphone charging from the single port with no problems.
     
  10. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #10
    what type of USB 2.0 hub are you using? have you got any firewire 800 devices connected. is there a USB > FW800 adapter that exists? think i need to ask as a separate thread on this
     
  11. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    The fixed RAM is the only drawback I have.

    It works, but it's messy. It's of course due to the fact that the adapter is a POS and Apple hasn't fix it in almost a year.

    It does get annoying sometimes, thought I'm also used to doing everything wirelessly now. If anything I usually have stuff connected to my desktop and shared with the MacBook Air. If you need to use the USB Ethernet adapter and something else, you can use a hub with no problems. You should note though, that the USB SuperDrive will only work when directly connected to the integrated port.

    No target disk mode. Said adapters do exist, but are pointless considers USB is slower than FW. Also most adapters are from USB to unpowered FW400 (4 pin).

    I throw my computer around and no issue here. Father uses the Rev. A model and his hinge is perfect *knock on wood*.

    It's not fast, but not slow. It's certainer faster than the 4200RPM drive. Just a heads up, even though it's a 128GB SSDs, it's is actually only 120GB in size (yes even with the Snow Leopard correction).

    Can barely hear the fans, it does heat up, but nothing serious. I may just be unlucky, but my fans have failed twice.
     
  12. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #12
    just a dodgey soniq one i got for $20AUD? it's not special. The air's usb slot provides more power than I thought it would.

    And I don't have any USB --> FW800 adapters, but I'm sure if you search the internets for long enough, one will appear, though if it's not popular there will be the obvious premium attached.

    EDIT: Oh and the fan issue - it doesn't really play up unless you do something silly, you know like overclocking your GPU and CPU under Win 7 or something. But if you run OSX not much will happen to the fan unless you -really- push it
     
  13. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  14. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #14
    Yes it does. And I was thinking the same thing. So if I hook up a MBA via a Mini Display Port Dual Link adapter to my 30" ACD, then I can hook up my external firewire back up drives. BUT, only at FW400 speed, as the 23 & 30 ACDs only have Firewire 400 connectors on the back. I can live with this.

    But what about target disk mode? If my Mac Pro or 17" MBP goes down and I want to connect my MBA to access the drives is this possible via the 30" ACD FW ports? Will the MBA be able to see say the MBP 17's drive in target disk?
     
  15. couto27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    lisboa,portugal
    #15
    same question??

    im also very tempted on the lastest macbook air

    and in the latest mbp 2.26

    can you guys help me out ? considering hte following facts

    1-the use of both macs are 90% web pages
    2- the price discount i have get between the two models is $270
    3- probably another usb ,but not important
    4-i would buy a superdrive ,just in case
    5- i like the design ,of the air
    6- im flying 2 times a month in my job ( 3 hours flight and 2 hours driving )backpack use sometimes for 6 hours , 2 times a month
    7-i heard that ssd open itunes in 2 seconds its true?
    8-disc space ok
    9- resell value is important ,because im always updating my apple models, but this time im decided to use it for at least 2 years.
    10- i own in the past the first unibody 2.0 and i was pleased with it ,performance etc ,but i sell it

    11- the performance between the 2 models is the most important considering the foolowing tasks

    this is a exemple perfomance that i will need

    -15 web pages open and scrolling
    -iphone conect to mac and sync
    -iphoto on
    -itunes playing movie hd or radio web streaming
    -3 or 4 downlads at the same time
    -you tube movie playing
    -skype on
    - installing a program


    do i need the macbook pro 2.26 ,or the macbook air 2.13 ssd will do this tasks considering most of them will be at the same time.
    thanks
     
  16. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #16
    by downloads do you mean on BT? or direct downloads?

    i do most of those things at the same time, i don't use iPhoto, and by 'hd' do you mean Bluray quality HD or something else?

    that said, if you forgo installing a program whilst on skype AND downloading AND playing youtube the air will suffice.
     
  17. couto27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    lisboa,portugal
    #17
    download is bt
    hd is play full hd movie from itunes .

    so i also think will be more than enough
    probably i will try to test a macbook air before making my final decison.

    ok apple im about to buy the macbook air, soooo dont even think to
    launch a mba with 4gb of ram in the next revision..... otherwise i will :D screammm
     
  18. Encolpius macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #18
    I just bought an Air myself and couldn't be happier with the performance.

    My other Mac is the 2.8GHz MacBook Pro, and while it's a great laptop, it's just too heavy and big to lug around. Even the loss of just two pounds makes an enormous difference with the weight on my shoulders while wearing a backpack.

    I plan to leave the heavy duty stuff to the Pro and use the Air for portable work and travel use. The only drawback is the 2GB limit, but unless you are going to run VMWare or another RAM hungry application, you probably won't notice. If you're worried, I'm pretty sure the next revision will have more RAM.
     
  19. jtmav macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #19
    I have a new Rev C 2.13 and run Fusion with XP Pro with no problem at all. I am running 10.6.2 and Fusion 3.0. I don't do any really heavy lifting in XP, mostly database management for my business using ACT. Apple replaced my rev B with this Rev C and I think there are subtle but nice performance enhancements.
    YMMV
    JTMav
     
  20. Encolpius macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #20
    I was considering installing my XP image, but the limited disk space of the Air and the fact that I just can't think of any XP application that I really need has put that off for now.

    I was thinking more along the lines of running Vista or 7 concurrently with OS X. The 2GB of RAM might make that an issue and the cooresponsingly larger install footprint would take up even more of my precious space. Installing under Boot Camp is an option, but we still have that disk space issue and I'd have to buy the Air's external drive.
     
  21. jtmav macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #21
    Using Fusion 3, according to iStat, I still have 500mb or more of free memory. If I wanted to run a bunch of windows apps I probably wouldn't have bought the Air in the first place. The only reason I do is because there are a handful of applications that are windows only. I am using OS X 95% of the time. I guess if you're a gamer that may be an issue. For my needs the Air is as close to perfect as I've had. :D
     
  22. scgf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Location:
    Market Harborough, UK
    #22
    Wow, iTunes does indeed open in 3 seconds on my new 2.13 GHz SSD MBA! That's faster than my 2.4 GHz, 4GB iMac.

    Shutdown is achieved in 3 seconds too, and startup is pretty fast. On my other Macs, once I enter my password it seems to take quite a while until the finder and startup apps has finished loading. On the MBA it takes a couple of seconds until the finder is ready to go.

    I bought my first MBA just after they first came out - it was a 1.6 GHz 80 GB Gen 1 model. I loved it, and sold it to a friend on Tuesday of this week. Went to my local Apple Store and purchased my new MBA and I couldn't be more pleased. The 2.13 Gen 3 is even nicer - very snappy indeed (more so than a friend's higher spec'ed MacBook Pro with HDD). The SSD seems to make all the difference.
     

Share This Page