VIBER on 5S and 6+ have same account and apple i.d. on both?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ET iPhone Home, Jan 8, 2015.

  1. ET iPhone Home, Jan 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2015

    ET iPhone Home macrumors 68040

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #1
    I have a 5S and 6+, both have the same apple i.d. account. I noticed that I can't make VIBER calls or receive calls on my 6+. Yesterday, a viber incoming call came in on my 5S, but not on the 6+. I had both phones on me. Minutes later, a Viber call registered on my 6+ and not the 5S. Should I only have one account registered to one phone. An ATT sim was in my 6+, but the 5S was simless.

    Do I need to restore and reset my 5S so that there is no link of my apple i.d. account on it? I'm thinking, having the same account on both phones is confusing Viber as to which incoming call it should register it to - 5S or 6+. And may be the reason why I can't make outgoing calls on my 6+ via Viber.
     
  2. rui no onna macrumors 601

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #2
    Viber is linked to your phone number and only works on one mobile device at a time (kinda frustrating, I know). Just reinstall Viber on the 6+ to properly set up and link it again. Once you do that, Viber on the 5s should automatically be disassociated with your Viber number.
     
  3. ET iPhone Home thread starter macrumors 68040

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #3
    Thanks, I appreciate this. I never thought about reinstalling Viber on the 6+. I did, however, do a clean erase of my 5S. I deleted my apple i.d. account from it and did a reset of all contents and settings. Tomorrow, I'll remove Viber from my 6+ and reinstall it back. Hopefully, I'll be able to make and receive calls.
     
  4. Allthings-I macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #4

    My friend Apple ID and Viber have no link what so ever.

    Viber is associated with your Phone #, much like WhatsApp is and there i no way for you to have 1 Viber account on two phones at the same time. You can however have Viber on your phone + Mac, if you want that its easy to setup so it rings on both and you can send and receive messages on both but thats about it.
     
  5. ET iPhone Home thread starter macrumors 68040

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #5
    What was strange was that I took the ATT sim off the 5S and inserted it into the 6+; yesterday my 5S rang (VIBER) without a sim in it and I was able to talk to the person who called. Strange…
     
  6. Allthings-I macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #6
    Nothing strange about that my friend, Viber only uses your # for activation of the Viber app because it'll send you a SMS / Text message to that # or any # in fact that you want to activate Viber on your phone with...so you can activate viber with a google voice # if you wanted to.

    get it? so you can remove SIM and still use Viber as long as you are connected to WiFi or hotspot data as that is all it uses to communicate.
     
  7. ET iPhone Home thread starter macrumors 68040

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #7
    Got it… Hey Thanks!!!
     

Share This Page