[VIDEO] Crysis 2 on the new iMac 27" (3.1ghz, QC i5)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by The Samurai, May 7, 2011.

  1. The Samurai, May 7, 2011
    Last edited: May 21, 2011

    The Samurai macrumors 68000

    The Samurai

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #1
  2. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #2
    What controller did you use for that Crysis 2?

    Wireless Xbox360 for Windows?

    Is there any bluetooth gamepad solution, both for the MacOS and bootcamp windows? I really want to have bluetooth solution, if possible :(
     
  3. The Samurai thread starter macrumors 68000

    The Samurai

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #3
    lol - used the good old Apple wireless keyboard and magic mouse (hence the ****** aim). I believe its possible to connect Xbox 360 / PS3 controllers... you need to download drivers though
     
  4. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #4
    On Windows, you can just plug in an Xbox 360 controller and it should just work without having to download any drivers. I play many PC games with the Xbox 360 controller and didn't have to do anything special.
     
  5. kfscoll macrumors 65816

    kfscoll

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #5
    What's your min/max/average framerate? What game settings are you using? What resolution are you running at?
     
  6. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #6
    Good video.

    However a few pointers.

    1. Use fraps, its free, run in the background, take note of the fps, and call it out a few times, its difficult for us to notice the fps in a video like that, is it 50? is it 30? its hard for us to see.

    2. I would rather you post settings at the start instead of talking about other things, but i get your not gaming interessted so no worries.

    3. Also, i wouldnt say that apple is waiting for new ssd's with the new z68 chipset. The whole point of that system is ssd caching, and the whole point of that is that you can use small ssds along with the standard harddrive. Thats why apple is coming out with 20gb ssds etc with their new chipset.

    Now, apple only offers a 256gb ssd as the lowest one, and then the whole point of ssd caching goes away. Will apple offer it another time? probably, but as it is now, the whole point of ssd caching goes away on those chipset.

    I think the reason is extra bandwith on the pci e lanes, to drive those two thunderbolt ports. Just some feedback because i feel you are calling out some wrong info.

    Also i would say (depending) on your needs that a upgrade for 2009 and 2010 can be significant one. More powerful graphics, 3 monitor setup, new core i archiecture. The leap from 2009 to 2010 is smaller then 2010 to 2011 i would say.

    Anyways, just my tips. also remember fraps next time when doing gaming benchmarks, its a given :)
     
  7. The Samurai thread starter macrumors 68000

    The Samurai

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #7
    1) Downloading now, will be handy for upcoming gaming videos - cheers.
    2) Fair enough, will show them at the start
    3) My bad - my understanding was that Intel hadn't officially launched it yet hence the shipment delays for those who were adding SSDs to their configs.
    4) re monitors - for sure, if your a pro then this is handy. I was talking more on general terms, if a pro was getting one - he/she would surely be aware. Don't get me wrong, I was simply saying it wasn't worth it upgrading from a 2010 model to one of these. I seem to be getting a lot of messages from people who are thinking about upgrading from a late 09/10 machine and most of these users don't go beyond facebook, watching movies and the occasional gaming!
     
  8. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Yeah, if you could use FRAPS that would be good. It's hard to tell from the video what FPS you're getting.

    EDIT: I don't suppose you could run a short minute or two test of Crysis 2 at 2560x1440 on lowest available settings ('High', I think) with FRAPS and just tell me the result. i.e, lowest FPS, and average (roughly).

    I'm just wanting to know I can play it at native with min. 30 FPS.
     
  9. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #9
    Yes ofcourse if you are not doing any "heavy" lifting (yes make the joke), then the old versions are fine.

    Appreciate your videos mate, and so do many people on here, really makes it easier for people if its worth a buy/upgrade. Keep up the awesome coverage of new mac machines :)
     
  10. MythicFrost, May 7, 2011
    Last edited: May 7, 2011

    MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Btw, I noticed you didn't use scope in the settings. You can set it to toggle zoom/scope in the gameplay settings, so it works with the Magic Mouse.

    EDIT: Also, when benchmarking, etc., turn vsync off. It locks the maximum frame rate to 60. So, say you're playing with that on and it was capable of 120 FPS, it'll only show 60.
     
  11. The Samurai thread starter macrumors 68000

    The Samurai

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
  12. glitch44 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #12
    Just wanted to thank you for making these videos available. Greatly appreciated.
     
  13. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    Thanks man! That's great! 45 FPS on those settings at native is brilliant! Cheers!
     
  14. Chazn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
  15. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #15
    Thanks for posting the video. I am very pleasantly surprised at the performance of the new 27" iMac that you've got. Makes me only want one more.
     
  16. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    Not sure if possible, but a benchmark of Metro 2033 would be great. If you can get your hands on it, just patch it to the latest version, and run the built in benchmark in its installation folder. It's a great benchmark, gives you very detailed results.

    Cheers
     
  17. The Samurai thread starter macrumors 68000

    The Samurai

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #17
    Update 3

    Black Ops & Modern Warfare 2 Multiplayer Demo, available here
     
  18. f1restarter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #18
    Yeah Metro 2033 on DX11 would be good benchmark since it's kinda the new Crysis and really stresses current systems.
     
  19. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #19
    So you decide to keep the new iMac, i believe? lol

    Thanks for the video, I see you made the Photoshop ¨heavy filtering¨ I suggested. Thanks .. you´re da best :D

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Maniia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #20
    Cheers, your videos made the choice for me. Wasn't sure if I would get the new Imac until I saw the performance videos you have been uploading for the last week. I underestimated how good it actually run games. One question tho, does it get loud when playing heavy games and how loud is it in idling mode?
     
  21. Wreckie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    #21
    Could you please make a GTA IV video? I would be appreciated.
     
  22. The Samurai thread starter macrumors 68000

    The Samurai

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow

Share This Page