Video plays nicely in VLC, poor quality in QT/iMovie/FCE etc.

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Lycanthrope, Mar 8, 2009.

1. Lycanthrope macrumors 6502a

Hi folks

I've a 54 minute film that was imported onto a Windows laptop via firewire using Movie Maker. The camera is old with a legacy Canopus codec, filesize is 11GB.

The file as-is won't play on Quicktime but plays very nicely on VLC. I tried some tools on the windows laptop (as there's no codec for Mac) and was able to convert to a "DV Type 2" which plays with the same quality (to my eye) on VLC and also plays on QT but looks much worse.

So my question is, what's going wrong here? How come VLC plays it back so well and yet all the video editing tools I've tried it looks bad? I've tried the VLC transcode wizard but that doesn't seem to help much. I've got an MPEG Streamclip ongoing now to see if that comes up with anything.

I'm a total novice on video, I must say I fond it deeply confusing...

Cheers
    Dave

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

Could you post screen grabs (with CMD + SHIFT + 1 (whole screen) through 4 (part you choose)) from VLC, QT, iMovie and FCE?

As I think, the video is in DV quality (as 1 hour of DV encoded video takes up to 13 GB of storage) and it should normally look okay.

VLC has a very good upscale quality, so even a 640x480 video looks quite good in fullscreen.

Are you using NTSC (USA and Japan) or PAL?

And do you watch the video in those applications you mentioned in full screen or in its native resolution (720x576 in PAL, 640x480 in NTSC I think) or in a smaller window?

3. LaDirection macrumors 6502

More importantly, open your film in QT, PRESS CMD+i and provide use with all the information provided.

VLC uses it's own set of codec, you are not reading the same file the same way twice here.