VIRUS, Trojan or something on my macbook! Can someone recommend a free virus scanner?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by steve111, Nov 1, 2009.

1. steve111 macrumors newbie

I don't know what's on my computer but I need a free virus/trojan/malware scanner.

I have tried using house call trend micro but it doesn't seem to work. 2 hours and it didn't look like it was doing anything. (Newbie here!:eek:)

Can anyone help please?

Steve

P.S. I'm desperate!

Thank you

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

Please search the forum. This is a multiple time a week topic. See the MRoogle link in my sig to help your search.

3. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

4. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

Lets start with the basics - why do you think this?

5. steve111 thread starter macrumors newbie

I was advised by a source that I trust. It is taking sales from my business. So I am not getting paid. I asked specifically on another forum and I trust their advice.

I was told to use trend micro but it didn't seem to work.

Thanks for your time,

Steve

6. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

If it's "taking sales from your business" why are you not willing to pay for professional help?

7. felt. macrumors 6502a

maybe use little snitch to block any outgoing connections from BUSINESS STEALING programs running on your macbook :confused:

8. steve111 thread starter macrumors newbie

hello miles,

I don't want to sound rude, but explaining 'why' I want something that's free isn't helping the problem.

Please understand that this is my situation/problem.

and it's the last thing I need right now.

Thanks

Steve

9. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Well you aren't being very smart about it. For example you still haven't described at all what your problem is. I doubt you have a virus, and if you have a trojan then why did you install it?

10. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid