Want to do a factory reset of my Macbook Pro. Help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by soamz, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. soamz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #1
    Hi..
    Im setting out to my hometown for 5 days and all of my stuff are on my iMac.


    I dont know, how to copy all settings ,etc from iMac straight to the Macbook Pro..


    As far as I think, the only way is first to reset the Macbook Pro.
    Take a Time Machine backup from the iMac.

    And then restore the copy to the Macbook Pro.

    Is that the only way left for me ?

    And how do we factory reset the macbook pro, so everything gets deleted and becomes new and ready for a new Tim Machine restore.

    Let me know..
     
  2. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #2
    Reinstall the system on the Macbook Pro using your recovery disks. Then, in the post-install setup, when it asks you if you want to transfer your data and applications from another computer, hook the two together with a firewire cable and let it do the transfer.

    Or you can use the iMac's Time Machine backup in place of the machine-to-machine transfer.
     
  3. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #3
    Isnt it there a key or option in the macbook Pro which can delete the whole MACINTOSH HD , and just leave the system OS .

    Then I can just connect my Time Machine backuo drive and select
    ,
    TRANSFER DATA FROM DIFF MAC USING TIME MACHINE.

    Possible ?
     
  4. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #4
    Yes. The recovery disk.

    Without reinstalling, you can create a second account and use the Migration Assistant to transfer data in. But that is not a "factory reset."
     
  5. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India

Share This Page