Want to start playing golf but need clubs...advice?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by WillMak, Apr 6, 2007.

1. WillMak macrumors 6502a

Hey I want to start playing golf but I don't know anything about clubs. What would be a good (I prefer used) brand for beginers and a good price for them?

2. R.Youden macrumors 68020

R.Youden

What I would suggest is to go down to your local golf club and speak to someone there. They should be able to go through with you everything that you need. Try and go to 2 / 3 different clubs and get a general idea of what is on offer. Some professional golfers will see you coming a mile off and try and milk you for everything you have. So if you go and speak to a few you should find out if any are taking you for a ride.

For an absolute beginner you really don't need anything specific. As long as there is a grip, shaft and club face to fit the ball with you will be OK.

If you want any specific advice in the future just drop me a PM.

Thanks.

3. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

mrgreen4242

Stay away from pro shops that are at golf courses! Even local golf stores are often rip-offs. Find someone local who will build you a custom measured set of imitation clubs. There's only a few companies that actually make golf club parts, so you can get, for example, a Nike golf club without the swoosh for 1/3 of the price. (It's like RAM - a few actual manufacturers and a ton of places that throw their sticker on it and mark it up!)

Someone who builds these as a side business or hobby will take you to a driving range or indoor simulator type facility and measure your swing with different types of clubs. They will recommend brands and styles for you, then order the parts, cut the shafts to match your size, wrap the grips with the material you choose and in the length that matches your grip, and put on the heads of that match the brand/style of the clubs you pick all for about half what you would pay for an off the rack set.