Want to transfer my windows partition to external ssd to use with new imac, is this possible?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iemcj, Jun 22, 2017.

  1. iemcj macrumors 6502

    iemcj

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    #1
    I have a late 2015 imac with an equal partition between OSX and Win10 which I setup through bootcamp. Now that I'm getting a new imac next week, I wana just have OSX installed cuz I run out of room so easily and couldn't afford a 1tb ssd.

    Is there a way I can install windows on a nexternal SSD drive, transfer all my games to that, and then just plug that in when I wana use windows? My only concern is I have a legit copy of Windows 10 and I do NOT have the key paper anymore so I'm afraid if I try to do a carbon copy to that external SSD that something won't be "legit".

    Does this make sense? Thanks guys!
     
  2. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #3
    I use WinClone often to create external Thunderbolt SSD Windows installations for my iMacs. It has worked great, and provides an easy way to keep periodic backups in case of problems requiring reinstallation.

    However, you may run into activation issues with moving it to a new machine. Windows 10 activation has changed and now creates a "Digital Entitlement" for your computer hardware on the Microsoft servers (like a hardware fingerprint). This makes reinstallation easy since your computer will activate the first time it connects to the servers.

    Your new iMac will have a different "fingerprint" and will have to initially be activated by a key code which would come with a new purchase of Windows 10. I think key codes from Windows 7 and 8 are also allowed if they aren't currently in use.

    I have not yet had the need to attempt to transfer a older retail key code from one Windows 10 computer to a new one, so I can't say if the process for doing so over the phone is the same as before. Perhaps another member here has some experience they can share. I will be in the same position when I order a new iMac later this year.
     
  3. SnowLucas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    #4
    Could you use the program Rufus on windows to create a windows to go install on any USB drive and then use the in built windows tools to migrate your data across? Saves paying for software.



    As for activation this all depends on what type of windows product you bought. If its OEM then I believe technically you shouldn't be able to move it to a new PC (although I believe people have with a call to Microsoft) if it was full retail then I'm pretty sure its allowed. There will almost certainly be a program for windows to extract your product key as a starting point.
     
  4. iemcj thread starter macrumors 6502

    iemcj

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    #5
    The thing I bought was the usb card in a package from Best buy. It let me install everything then activate with the code that was in there. Since it's been two years, I don't have that packaging anymore. Does that mean I'd have to BUY windows again? Cuz screw that, i'll find a way to pirate it then.
     
  5. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #6
    I
    I am not sure but i think you should be able to know the windows serial from a running system.
     
  6. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #7
    I have used "Magic Jelly Bean" to display the product-key-code on a running Windows system, but I haven't used it on a Windows 10 system. This would allow the OP to try to authorize his existing Windows purchase on his new machine.

    https://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/
     
  7. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #8
    With W10 things have changed. No more transferring of licences from one computer to another. You'll need a new licence if you want to use that Windows install in a new computer.
     
  8. SnowLucas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    #9
    I don't think this is correct at all. He bought a retail license not an OEM, wasn't preinstalled with hardware and isn't an upgrade from win 7 or 8. I'm pretty sure you can move the right types of windows 10 licenses to a new computer if removed from the old one.

    A quick google suggests as much.
     
  9. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #10
    That is what i remember as well. The only difference from the past is that you need to remove the license from old pc first.
     

Share This Page