What’s the process?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by willmtaylor, Sep 13, 2017.

  1. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #1
    I’m excited to say that my 2017 27” iMac is on its way from B&H. They price matched the base model with the 1TB SSD to Apple’s Education Store.

    Still sitting on the desk though, is a 2009 iMac with 8 years worth of files, photos, videos, and family memories. However, it has a failing GPU. What is the quickest/easiest way to get all of my important “stuff” over to the new iMac?

    Thanks!
    willmtaylor
     
  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    Migration Assistant...

    FROM: your old Mac, your Time Machine backup or your clone backup
    TO: your new Mac​
     
  3. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #3
    And this way I can pick and choose what copies over without restoring the entire system from a backup?
    --- Post Merged, Sep 13, 2017 ---

    These are the ports on my 2009 iMac:
    [​IMG]

    These are the ports on my new 2017 iMac:
    [​IMG]

    What's going to be the fastest way to transfer so many photos, videos, and so much music?
     
  4. J.Gallardo macrumors newbie

    J.Gallardo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    #4
    Perhaps I'm wrong, but I believe the problem with Migration Assistant is that the application must be running and managed also in the "FROM" computer...
    I'm sitting here by my late 2009 27" iMac with exactly the same problem with gpu; screen is black.
    I'm getting a new iMac, and I'm planning to start up my old mac in "Target Disk Mode". This way, I can take what I want from the now external HD (my back-up wasn't up to date) to my new Mac over FireWire (and this is another story...).
    The other way implies opening the broken iMac and getting the HD out.
    In this situation, I can't imagine other solutions. Ideas are welcome.
     
  5. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #5
    My GPU isn’t completely blown. Last I checked I could still boot the system up and safe mode was another option.

    Yes, ideas welcome.
     
  6. niteflyr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #6
    Turn on file sharing for the old iMac's HDD. Connect the two together with an Ethernet cable. Open up finder on the new iMac and drag whatever you need onto the new machine.
     
  7. J.Gallardo macrumors newbie

    J.Gallardo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    #7
    If you can start up and see what's happening (even with artifacts or color problems, would be wonderful ... My mac starts but screen is completely black; opened, and problem is the gpu) you should be able to attend Migration Assistant. Perhaps the easiest way to connect both computers would be with usb. Ethernet, and even wifi (I believe) are possible. I don't know wich is the fastest interface... but for sure somebody up here knows (?)
     
  8. niteflyr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #8
    If you are wanting to keep your settings, Email, playlists, etc. Migration Asst. is the way to go. The 2009 is only USB 2.0 so Ethernet is probably the fastest here.
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Do you have a current Time Machine backup of the 2009 on a USB3 external drive drive? If so, just use that as the source for Migration Assistant.

    A tip though... make sure you do the import as part of the setup assistant when you first start the new iMac. Just follow the steps and attach the TM drive when prompted. Do not go through setup and make and account, then try to run Migration Assistant as it can cause all sorts of account ownership problems.
     
  10. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #10
    I do have it backed up, but to an older, pancake style time capsule.
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Hmmm.... that would work, but I think would be slower than if you just connected the two machines directly over ethernet. Those older Time Capsules were dog slow with network transfers.

    Do you have a spare USB3 drive around? Just attach that to the 2009 tonight and let it do a full TM backup and that would be a nice, fast source for your migration.
     
  12. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #12
    I don’t have one, but it wouldn’t be a bad idea to have one. Question - is it possible to start up the 2009 in safe mode and then enable the networking for the transfer over ethernet?
     
  13. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #13
    I don't know. I have not tried it and I have not read anything on that. I would think it would though.
     
  14. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #14
    I retract my previous answer. My backup backup drive, a 500GB LaCie IS, in fact, USB 3.

    And thanks for the tip!
     
  15. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #15
    Just booted into safe mode. Backed up onto Time Capsule successfully. Now backing up onto LaCie.
     
  16. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #16
    Excellent. :)

    Let us know how you get on with the new iMac.
     
  17. J.Gallardo macrumors newbie

    J.Gallardo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    #17
    Nice ending
    By the way, I’ll remember to have my back-up disk up to date with my next iMac. It’s somehow funny and instructive to note that broken mac’s HD is in perfect shape, as mine.
    Back up.
    Back up.
    Bacp up.
    (Ok. I won’t forget)
     
  18. kschendel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #18
    If the stuff on the 2009 iMac were important to me, I'd be real tempted to open it up (not that hard with a 2009), pull the hard drive, and throw it into a drawer for safekeeping. If you need something that somehow got missed, you can dig up a sata-USB cable and retrieve it from the old hard drive. Plus, it might be a useful archive.
     
  19. J.Gallardo macrumors newbie

    J.Gallardo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    #19
    You are RIGHT.
    In my situation I begun thinking about Migration Assistant... Target Disk Mode... supposing a “wired” solution was the quickest and easiest.
    After making a plan to connect FireWire 800 (target disk) to Thunderbolt 3 (new iMac) - it’s not so simple-... I’ve come to realize that it isn’t as easy as just getting out the HD.
    Talking with other people and reading the threads helped me to see things clearer...
    Thank you, MacRumors Forums & members!
     
  20. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #20
    Unfortunately, I have neither the tools nor the expertise for such an endeavor, though I wish I did.
     
  21. J.Gallardo macrumors newbie

    J.Gallardo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    #21
    Neither I do! But my 2009iMac is broken, so I did dare to open it! (Things couldn’t get worse... & live in a remote town; no help near).
    I searched the Net, and symptoms of a dead gpu are well known. Techies “reflow” the gpu after a quite delicate extraction! They heat the card in the oven or with a torch! Crazy, but it works!
    That seems really impossible to me... and special knowledge & tools are needed.
    But I think I have the courage to extract a HD and install in a dedicated case... May be the simplest operation a newbie can afford, I believe.
    And surely takes less time to learn than figuring out how to connect FW800-TB3! I challenge you all!
     
  22. kschendel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #22
    The 2009's are quite easy to open up, if you have the suction cups for the front glass; and those can be had online for under 5 bucks. After that, it's just common screwdrivers. Instructions are on ifixit.com.
     
  23. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #23
    My recommended procedure:

    1. Have an external drive at-hand
    2. Download CarbonCopyCloner. CCC is FREE to download and use for 30 days.
    3. Use CCC to create a bootable cloned backup on the external drive
    4. Take the NEW iMac out of the box, but DON'T boot it yet
    5. Get everything connected, including the bootable backup drive
    6. NOW boot the new iMac for the first time
    7. Go through the initial setup. At the appropriate moment, the setup assistant will ask if you want to migrate data from another Mac or drive
    8. "Aim" setup assistant at the external cloned backup
    9. Select what you wish to migrate. Usually, this is everything.
    10. Let setup assistant do its thing.
    11. When done, you now log into the new iMac, but it will "look" like your old one did (due to the magic of setup assistant).

    You should check all your applications. SOME may no longer work -- you'll have to decide what to do (upgrade, delete 'em, etc.).

    IF you were using iPhoto, be aware that the iPhoto library will automatically open Photos now.
    There IS a copy of iPhoto that will still run under the newer versions of the OS, but it isn't easy to obtain.

    I -always- recommend a bootable cloned backup instead of Time Machine. It's finder-mountable and can be connected to any Mac or account for access.
     
  24. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #24
    Thank you for this. Quite thorough and easy to follow. Are there any drawbacks to this versus using a time machine back up?
     
  25. kschendel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #25
    Fishrrman described a migration technique. Once you get the new machine up and running, you'll need a backup strategy, and the suggestion is to maintain cloned backups. I think there's a place for both; I use Time Machine for incremental backups, and every now and then (I try for every couple weeks), I'll make a full bootable copy with super-duper (CCC works as well). I normally have 3 or 4 bootable copies which I rotate, and every few months I'll make one on a separate drive and save that one indefinitely. This does require more backup drives, but 256 Gb usb drives are cheap, and this is an income producing machine. For a family computer you would want to do roughly the same thing but you can of course adjust the frequency of full copies to suit your needs.

    One other suggestion, you probably have a bunch of crud on your old machine that you no longer need. Don't delete it before you migrate; migrate first, make sure everything is OK, and then see if there's some old junk you can get rid of.
     

Share This Page