What accessories should I buy with my new 13" MBP?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MortalDays, May 31, 2010.

1. MortalDays macrumors regular

Hello everyone,

I am planning to buy a 13" MBP base model on this Saturday and would like your advices in choosing what accessories or even mac softwares I should buy with it. (I am brand new to mac; I have been a Windows user for the past 10 years.)

It would be fantastic if you could provide the brands or even links to a list of accessories that I should buy or you bought that you think its a "must buy" to go with the MBP.

So far the things that came across my mind are:

1) Carrying Case - I am going to carry my MBP across my university campus a lot; I am still debating whether to carry as an individual case or inside my backpack. Advice? What brand should I get is best?

2) Screen Cover - Any idea in what brand is best or what store should I buy it from?

3) Sleeve

... etc. (What else should I add to my list?)

Thanks.

2. Ash9414 macrumors 6502

Instead of telling you what I think you should get, I'm going to tell you what I'm getting so you can see if you too need any of these items.

1. Magic Mouse - I will be using my MBP on a desk most of the time so this will come in handy.

2. Incase Neoprene Sleeve Plus - To keep dust off my MBP over night and to protect the laptop when I transport it.

3. Western Digital My Passport for Mac 500GB (or just any external hard drive) - To back up your files and to store other important information.

4. Microsoft Office 2011? - This may come in handy since you are coming from a Windows machine, and I've heard rumours of a new, better Office coming out late this year so I would probably wait until then unless you really need it.

5. iWork 2010/2011 - There may be features on the Apple software that you don't get on the Office software.