What cable do I need to connect iMac to Dell 30" monitor?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gopherhockey, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. gopherhockey macrumors regular

    gopherhockey

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #1
    I did just a bit of searching and found some cable answers but none that I thought fully answers my question, which is two-fold:

    1. I am ordering a new 27" iMac but want to connect my Dell 30" monitor as a second monitor. I assume the iMac does not come with the necessary cable, but I'm not sure which one to buy. The Dell monitor is digital with a 2560x1600 resolution.

    2. Would that same cable be able to connect a 2010 model Macbook Pro to the new iMac and/or the Dell?

    The one area I feel Apple needs help is the multiple monitor situation. For years I have run laptops with 2-3 external monitors... I find myself having to go back to 2 monitors with either setup unless I buy some 3rd party hardware or shell out for a Mac Pro.
     
  2. zaffle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #2
  3. gopherhockey thread starter macrumors regular

    gopherhockey

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #3
    Thanks. Looks like my Dell is just old enough not to have the displayport adapter... it has the big DVI adapter, I assume I'd get a mini displayport to DVI like this one (below), or do I need that $99 dual-link dvi adapter cable.

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10246&cs_id=1024604&p_id=5998&seq=1&format=2
     
  4. nobias macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #4
  5. Yumyumyourmum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    #5
    Urgh

    Im in a similar-ish predicament. I recently got an new imac. I also have a Dell monitor which i used previously. Now, i found an HD -> monitor cable lying around (The one with the thin HD end, and the fat end with the screws) and i used this to plug my xbox 360 into the monitor. At first i thought SWEET, but then realised i had no speakers on the monitor, thus no sound on the Xbox. So i tried plugging the monitor into my macbook, and my logitech speakers into the laptop as well, to try run the sound from the speakers with the XBox360.

    This didnt seem to work, and now im wondering if i should get a cable for my imac to plug the dell monitor into it, and use the logitech speakers through my imac to the Xbox360.

    Confusing, i know, but i really need help here D:

    - Cheers, Conrad. :)
     
  6. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #6
    you should start a new post with exactly what you need, not top post one from August of 2010 that has nothing to do with what you need.
     
  7. Yumyumyourmum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    #7
    :d

    Yeah, im totally new to this ae. Got no idea how to use these sites :(
     

Share This Page