What Display To Buy To Go With Macbook Pro (Graphic Designer)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Mr. Funsocks, Oct 8, 2008.

1. Mr. Funsocks macrumors regular

Hi everyone, I'm a graphic designer and am looking to expand my screen real estate from my macbook pro's 15". I want a display that's minimum 20" and max 24"ish. I want as good of color accuracy as I can get. It can't be a TN display or have any color shifting. My budget is about $600. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Umbongo macrumors 601

Umbongo

For your budget you are probably going to be looking at an Apple Cinema Display. NEC and Eizo displays start above that and while you can get IPS panels in Dell and HP displays for your budget you can't guarantee the panel type unless you are buying used.

3. Mr. Funsocks thread starter macrumors regular

Aren't the ACDs kind of outdated though? They haven't been updated in a few years. From what I've read they're not worth the money you pay for them.

4. cluthz macrumors 68040

cluthz

Eizo have some nice s-vpa panels that aren't too expensive, the flexscan w2231 and w2431.

5. Umbongo macrumors 601

Umbongo

They aren't outdated in the sense that some people regard them. They fill a gap between displays aimed at consumers (Dell, Samsung) and those aimed at professionals where colour accuracy is important (NEC, Eizo).

6. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

SnowLeopard2008

The ACD's are cheaper and pretty good at color accuracy. The thing is with ACD's, it's not "outdated" in the usual sense. It's outdated in specs, like slow response times (compared to even my display). BUT, the tft panel is one of excellent quality, just don't use it for FPS gaming. Casual gaming is fine, but anything with many frames per second, like FPS games will run a little slow as its response time is on the slow side.

7. camomac macrumors 6502a

camomac

look for a lacie used on ebay. they make some great monitors.

8. LinMac macrumors 65816