What do you do to live a more sustainable life?

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by imac/cheese, Mar 18, 2011.

1. imac/cheese macrumors 6502a

As a sustainability professional, I am always interested in what people from around the world do to live a more sustainable life. I would love to hear what actions you take in your daily life to reduce your impact on the environment and if anyone would like me to help them quantify the impact of their efforts, I would be glad to do so.

2. rdowns macrumors Penryn

rdowns

I do the obvious, easy things. I recycle, use cloth bags at the grocery store, have some CFC bulbs, try to buy things with minimal packaging.

3. Sydde macrumors 68020

Sydde

How does the environmental balance sheet work out between my kitchen vs. the cafe on the corner? Generally speaking, cooking from scratch, at what point do I become as efficient? How much do I have to make/how many to I have to feed to be comparable to food service?

4. Ugg macrumors 68000

Ugg

Two years ago yesterday I quit smoking and sold my car. The reason for selling my car was that by riding my bicycle, I would burn off some of that excess energy. My car was getting a little old and needed some work so my "reward" for quitting would be a new car in the fall.

Well, I really liked getting around on my bike, my neighbor has a truck in case I need to haul anything big and 2 years ago, ZipCar came to town. It's also pretty cheap to rent a car for the weekend or even a week if I want to go further afield.

I also have a small veggie garden, shop at the local, year round farmer's market (much of the produce is less expensive than at the store) and recycle everything I can. Nor do I eat a lot of red meat, but that's been the case since I was very young so it's not really a matter of effort, more one of personal preference.

I also try to encourage other people when it comes to sustainability. Every little bit helps.

5. Lord Blackadder, Mar 18, 2011