What do you know now that you wish you knew then abt your iPhone 3G?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by beaumonde, Oct 13, 2008.

1. beaumonde macrumors newbie

(I did a search of the forum and didn't find a similar thread. If there is one, mods, please feel free to delete this one!)

I'm a newbie and am (finally) getting ready to take the plunge and get an iPhone. I'm thinking about the 16 gig in white...

So my question is: What do you know now about your iPhone 3G that you wish you knew then (when you first got it)?

After reading through this forum for the last couple hours, I've learned the following:
    1. Get a good screen cover (and probably a case too)
    2. AT&T $25 referral
    3. Corporate discount

What I've not concluded:
    1. 16 gig v 8 gig (seems like the extra $100 is worth it)
    2. black or white (I know it's mostly a style thing, but does the white really discolour?)
    3. "Bad apps" that you regret downloading?

Other things I should ponder? :D

THANKS IN ADVANCE!

2. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68030

Sounds like you are right on track with your thinking. In my personal opinion, 16GB is the way to go. And as far as I can tell, the White iPhone does not discolor. Mine's still as bright as Day 1.

Congrats on getting an iPhone. You're going to love it!

3. PatrickRS macrumors member

What I didn't fully appreciate in buying my iPhone were the draconian limitations in Apple's SDK.

Coming from the rich software environment of the Treo, I knew things wouldn't be as good on the fledgling iPhone platform but fully expected it to rapidly catch up.

Alas, it is not to be (unlesss Apple makes a radical shift in its policies).

Two of the most important restrictions from my POV:
    • No access to the USB port, so no over-the-wire syncing from an iPhone app to a desktop companion app (my company forbids wireless networks in the building).