What happens to users who don't upgrade to iOS 7 in the long term?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by FHayek, Oct 3, 2013.

1. FHayek macrumors member

My question is not meant as red meat. I'm relatively new to iPhones, so bare with me.

What happens if one chooses not to update to the newest iOS?

Will one's experience suffer? Will the phone stop working properly? Will there be compatibility issues with apps etc.?

Thanks-

FH

2. defunct32, Oct 3, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2013

defunct32 macrumors regular

What happens to users who don't upgrade to iOS 7 in the long term?

You'll be punished by Apple and the authorities will come and fetch you for questioning.

Lol, nah, from what I know apps will no longer be compatible as in future updates and newer apps as they will require iOS 7 to run, you can still download legacy version or whatever they call that? Whereby the app store will find the last most compatible app for you. I highly doubt Apple will direct force you to upgrade but eventually everyone will get on with the times, for your info, I am on iOS 6 and am holding on for as long as I can.

3. dannyyankou macrumors 603

dannyyankou

You're "smartphone" won't get any smarter. iOS 7 will continue to get the cool new stuff. That's about it.

4. plainwhitetay macrumors regular

Your phone will never just stop working. It will continue to work just as it does and has with no changes planned. Ever. Apps should continue to work (especially now that Apple allows the legacy downloads) but they may not get any future updates, because that may require iOS 7.
    I'm personally holding onto iOS 6 for as long as possible. The only thing that would tempt me to iOS 7 is a jailbreak, but I'm not sure if that will even yet.

5. zipster macrumors 6502

Nothing.