OS X What is gaming like on the 8Gb RAM rMBP 13'' running Mavericks; NOT Windows?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MartinAppleGuy, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #1
    What is gaming like on the new Macbook Pro retina 13'' with 8Gb of RAM?

    Please only answer if the games are run in Mavericks, not Windows.

    I'm guessing it will easily run GTA San Andreas and CoD 4 max settings. What about other games?
     
  2. 5gs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #2
    I have one of the first (mid-2012) 15in. rMBPs and it runs GTA 4 plus all the COD games great through Windows on BOOTCAMP. Haven't tried the older GTA/COD on the OSX side, but CS:GO runs great on OSX.

    I upgraded the CPU and RAM options but I think you'd be just as well off with 8 GB / stock CPU on a new 13" rMBP considering it has a slightly better GFX card anyway.

    But check out these YouTube videos.
     
  3. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #3
    I ended up getting the 21.5 inch iMac with upgraded processor and graphics with the Nvidia GT 750m 1Gb GDDR5.
     
  4. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #4
    I like how you asks for OSX only gaming and the next post has youtube link to games through Bootcamp.

    Here's a Mac Gaming Channel that only plays in OS X, and with a rMBP GT650m

    https://www.youtube.com/user/OSXAdam

    It'll run fine, Half of my channel was all done on my 2012 rMBP, before I switched to my Mac Pro for gaming.

    I and OSX Adam only play games that run in OS X, either natively or through Wine.
     
  5. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #5
    I can play COD 4 and Black Ops on the HD4000 in my 15" rMBP (although I much prefer using the GT 650M), plays fine, COD 4 is VERY VERY easily played on much any machine, I played it maxed out on my 2010 13" MBP and it ran like a champ. Still have it on there. With Iris Pro I would expect even better results vs the 320M (2010 13" MBP) or HD4000
     
  6. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #6
    Am I playing the same game? Because I have to turn everything to lowest to get smooth (over 30) fps in most multiplayer situations. The res I'm using is 1024x640
     
  7. hp79 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Location:
    Portland
    #7
    Similar question here, I play TF2 on my desktop with GTX 460, but would be nice to play on my rmbp13. Are there big difference in performance when comparing Windows Steam TF2 via Bootcamp vs OSX Steam TF2? How about Civ5?

    I haven't installed Steam on any of my partition yet because of how buggy Steam is, and I don't like its behavior of always showing "checking for update" on my desktop computer.
     

Share This Page