What is the best UNLOCK for the 3g 16gb?! Using Tmoble network.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by The1TexasRanger, Feb 19, 2009.

  1. The1TexasRanger macrumors member

    The1TexasRanger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #1
    So far all I have found for unlocking the 3g you have to jail break it then using Quick Pawn then use sydia ap to install the yellow snow hack to unlock the phone with the latest 2.2.1 . My phone is running 2.2.1. Or I was looking at the rebel sim card? Will any of these hacks/mods have potential to damage the phone? Which is better??! Also if I jailbreak it, is it possible for apple to brick it even if I run the i phone on Tmoble. Thanks. Sorry for so many ?s. Just dying for more info lol...
     
  2. Scooterpig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #2
    The Yellowsn0w unlock is dependent on the BaseBand verison you are running. if you are running 2.30.00 then you are out of luck using Yellowsn0w, but if you have 2.28.00 then you can use it and personally would only use that over the sims.

    No it won't damage the phone at all.

    Not sure what ya mean by Apple bricking your phone, but jailbreaking shouldn't brick it if done correctly.
     
  3. The1TexasRanger thread starter macrumors member

    The1TexasRanger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #3
    Oh Ok, from what Ive read I cant downgrade or restore I guess. The phone has the new 2.30.03, So there is not currently a software/firmware hack for 2.30.03 modem firmware?? So I guess I stuck with the rebel sim? Dangit... Yeah someone told me apple can brick it if you jailbreak it. Hope fully there wrong lol...
     
  4. Scooterpig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #4
    Yep you are correct in that NO you can't downgrade the BaseBand unfortunately, so not a lot of choice right at the moment..:(
     
  5. The1TexasRanger thread starter macrumors member

    The1TexasRanger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #5
    Ok. The Rebel Sim should work though right? Just to get by for now?.
     
  6. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #6
    Does T-Mobile even work in the US? I thought they used a frequency the iPhone didn't support?
     
  7. The1TexasRanger thread starter macrumors member

    The1TexasRanger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #7
    No no... Its just a GSM network. Suncom got bought out by Tmoble. I was originally with Suncom.lol. Yeah I live on the east coast. Alot of people are using the iphone on Tmoble. I know it works.lol...
     
  8. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #8
    If you're on the latest baseband, you have 2 options:

    1. Get one of those SIM devices.
    2. Wait for a yellowsn0w patch, which is free.
     
  9. The1TexasRanger thread starter macrumors member

    The1TexasRanger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #9
    Ok, Thanks. I just ordered the rebel sim to get by for now. Can I still jailbreak the phone with the lasted base band? Thanks.
     
  10. y0m0uth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008

Share This Page