What is the best way to burn a DVD with video taken with my Iphone 4?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by Eddie52, Mar 7, 2011.

1. Eddie52 macrumors newbie

I currently purchased a brand new Macbook Pro 2010. The first thing I bought was the DVD burning software of Toast Titanium 10. I imported the video I took on my Iphone 4 to my Macbook pro and then onto Imovie. I've since edited my video and export it to my desktop. I burned it onto a DVD and when I played it on my 46inch television it looked horrible. I thought since I was taking 720p video on my Iphone that it would look at least decent on a DVD. I thought burning my DVD with Toast instead of IDVD would make a difference but it did not. In a way I'm a noob at all this 'Mac' stuff... What is the best way to burn video taken with my Iphone 4 onto a DVD and still have the highest quality video? Can It be that I should give up trying to burn video taken on my iphone 4 and just get a 'real' HD camera?

Any help is greatly appreciated :)

2. AdrianK macrumors 68020

It's irrelevant that the recorded video is 720p, DVDs are only 480p.

Assuming you're in an NTSC region, that's 720*480, vs 1280*720 that it was originally recorded in. So you only retain 38% of the definition. Not to mention that you do undergo a generation of loss when you export from iMovie (though this is quite minimal, if you use Apple's standard 720p option).

Alternatives:
    Buy Apple's dock to HDMI converter, then plug an HDMI lead in to your TV and the converter.
    Stick the movie on a thumbdrive and plug it in a PS3 or Xbox 360, if you have one.
    Get a bluray player, burn the video to a DVD *AS DATA* (not the best option, may require further encoding).

3. Eddie52, Mar 9, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2011

Eddie52 thread starter macrumors newbie