What is the Cinebench scores of the GT 750m (GDDR5) in the iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MartinAppleGuy, Apr 25, 2014.

  1. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #1
    I have a late 2013 iMac with the Nvidia GeFroce GT 750m with 1Gb of GDDR5 VRAM. I was wondering what fps it get's on the Cinebench benchmarking application. If anyone knows, please post bellow :)
     
  2. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #2
    Nobody has tried the test or knows where to find out the results?
     
  3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #3
    21.5" 3.1GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 256GB SM0256F and 1GB GT750M:

    Cinebench R15 score: 56.34 fps.

    CPU Multicore score (render test): 709 cb.
     
  4. MartinAppleGuy, Apr 26, 2014
    Last edited: May 4, 2014

    MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #4
    Thanks! I have the 2.9Ghz i5, 8Gb of RAM, 1Tb HDD, and the 750m. I guess mine would get the same fps score for the GPU correct?
     
  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    Theoretically, it should be. However, rendering may be limited by your CPU (you have an i5 with 4 threads, mine's got an i7 with 8 threads).

    Cinebench is a free download. I'm interested to know the CB scores for your i5 too :)
     
  6. MartinAppleGuy, Apr 26, 2014
    Last edited: May 4, 2014

    MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #6
    Thanks :) I might check it out when I have a chance. I will send you the results when I run it :)
     
  7. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #7
    I got a score of 57fps for the R15 score, and Cinebench 10 Multi-core was 19094.
     
  8. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #8
    I don't have Cinebench 10 with me, only R15. How about your Geekbench 3 scores, in 64 bit mode?

    So far the 2.9GHZ i5-4570S scores at around 10700-11100, while the 3.1GHz i7-4770S scores at around 13900-14400.
     
  9. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #9
    I'm just under 11,000 on 64 bit multicore with my 2.9 i5. I feel that the i7 in the 21" is really powerful, and not far off the 27". I wasn't able to do a build to order for my iMac, as I was getting an offer where I got a 3 year warranty for free.
     
  10. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #10
    Yup, the difference between my 3.1GHz i7-4770S and 3.5GHz i7-4771 isn't that much, because when doing multithreaded tasks, both processors will TurboBoost at around the same levels :)

    In multithreaded tasks, my 2.6GHz i7-4960HQ in my 15" rMBP is also around the 14300-14700 range.

    Oh and by the way, the 2GB GT750M in my 15" rMBP clocked in at around 57fps. There's barely any difference between the 1GB GT750M in the iMac and the 2GB GT750M in the rMBP during gaming as well, until apps that heavily rely on CUDA comes into play.
     
  11. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #11
    Yeah. I found that I sometimes get better FPS in games over the MBPr w/750m (Dirt 2 for example). This could be because I run at 1080p, rather than retina. So what is it you use your iMac for then?
     
  12. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #12
    My iMac 21.5" is my desktop computer, for regular work such as some medium video editing (1080p), normal Photoshop work and running about 2 VMs at the same time.

    My 27" acts as a home server and also is used to run several VMs (it's got 32GB of RAM), and it's also primarily used for gaming (4GB GTX780M) and also for 4K video editing. My desk isn't large enough to put a 27", so I mounted it on a VESA mount on the wall :)
     
  13. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #13
    in your cinebench R15 at Cores x Ghz writes 2 Cores, 4 Threads ??
    i know iMac have 4 cores right?
     
  14. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #14
    Mine's 4 cores/8 threads (i7)

    i5s will only have 4 cores/4 threads.
     
  15. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #15
    I use my iMac (2.9Ghz i5, 8Gb of RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT 750m) for heavy photo editing (I use Pixelmator but with PSD's), Video editing (iMovie, a lot of my work is 2 hour long 1080p videos, with several layers of audio and video, lots of image adjustments, video stabilisation...), as well as playing a few games (Dirt 2, Tomb Raider...) and the simple stuff like web browsing...

    Defiantly the best computer I have ever owned. Loving the performance :D
     
  16. Serban, Apr 27, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2014

    Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #16
    yes but on my imac late 2013 says 2cores/4 threads (i5 3.4Ghz)

    i don't get it because on my late 2013 macbook pro it says 4 cores and 8 threads

    seems on iMacs cinebench doesn't recognise all 4 cores
     
  17. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #17
    There is no iMac that is an i5 clocked at 3.4Ghz. Post an "about this mac" screenshot. (remember to blur out your serial code).
     
  18. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
  19. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #19
    Sorry. I thought you were talking about a 21". Must just be a bug.
     
  20. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #20
    Your MBP has 4c/8t because it's a quad core i7. As the quad core on the i5 only had 4c/4t, Cinebench may assume that it has more threads than cores and see it as a 2c/4t processor instead.

    You should go to Preferences in Cinebench and see how many threads are used. The i5 only has a maximum of 4 threads, so in hyperthreaded tasks, the i7 will outperform it by around 30-40%. This is true even if the i7 is clocked lower than the i5, so GHz isn't a direct translation of performance.
     
  21. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #21
    The high end Late 2013 iMac is the 3.5GHz i7 and mine shows all 4 cores.

    [​IMG]
     
  22. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #22
    Really should be called maxed out. I'd call the high end the highest you can buy without upgrading (ie the high end 21" comes with a 2.9Ghz i5, a maxed out 21" iMac has the i7).
     
  23. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #23
    Semantics. :rolleyes:

    OK, the maxed out Late 2013 27-inch iMac is a 3.5GHz i7. :p
     
  24. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #24
    I just redone the test on Yosemite (750m iMac) and got 60.36fps. Seems to have jumped a bit.
     
  25. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #25
    I don't have my 21.5" with me in Melbourne.

    I'm returning back to Queenstown in a few days, and I'll post back with results :)
     

Share This Page