What is the desktop equivalent of the iMacs 750m

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MartinAppleGuy, Aug 3, 2014.

  1. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #1
    What is the desktop equivalent to the GT 750m w/ 1GB of GDDR5 VRAM? Almost every comparison site uses the GDDR3 version so I'm finding it had to tell.

    And could you answer with the Nvidia desktop GPU. I read that the GDDR5 750m is almost on par with a 670m, but what about a desktop GPU?
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Below a 550ti. http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GT-750M.90245.0.html
     
  3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #3
    It's better than a GTX660M and slightly below the GT755M.

    Both are available in GDDR5 flavors only.

    I normally use the 755M's results and reduce the figures by around 5%
     
  4. Rud3Bwoy Suspended

    Rud3Bwoy

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
  6. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #6
  7. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #7
    Use the GT 755M's benchmarks and reduce it by around 5%.

    The 755M is GDDR5-only.

    The 750M and 755M (both GDDR5) are almost identical.
     
  8. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #8
    So what would the 755m's desktop equivalent be?
     
  9. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #9
    The GeForce GTX 460 768MB, or Radeon R7 250.

    Source - notebookcheck
     
  10. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #10
    I still feel that it would outperform when it real world tests (gaming fps)...

    My guess would be just bellow a GTX 750/650.
     
  11. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #11
    I doubt that.

    The R7 250 is a low-end GDDR5 desktop card, bringing it on par with mid-range notebook GPUs like the GT 755M.

    Look up Notebookcheck's statement on the R7 250.
     
  12. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #12
    I only said what I said above because I am amazed at how well the 750m holds up. It's no 780m, but playing X-Plane 10 at 1080p with 4X AA, 4X AF, textures at very high or extreme, every box checked apart from HDR, I achieve a low of 45fps and a high of around 90fps (not including those moments where you are up in the sky at cruising alt. and you get over 150fps).
     
  13. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #13
    Look at other comparison sites like GPUboss and you will see that the Mac version of the 750M is neck and neck with the 550 Ti.
     
  14. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #14
    According to this chart, about the same neighbourhood as the GTS 450. I didn't realize that mobile cards were this weak; I always assumed they were similar in performance to their desktop namesakes. In reality, they're more comparable to a mid-range desktop card from ~4 years ago.
     
  15. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #15
    That is for the DDR3 version. The GDDR5 version in all Macs is much faster. As someone above said, it is better to use the 755m for reference as they are really identical and the 755m only comes in GDDR5.
     
  16. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #16
    They are all based off desktop chips these days with the voltage lowered and the clocks dropped. A 770M, for example, is the same chip used in the 660 desktop (GK106/960 cores) just lower speed. Mobile variants compensate in a small way by usually having more VRAM.
     
  17. mikeo007, Aug 5, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2014

    mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #17
    Fair enough, but still not much better. The 755 is right in line with the 5770 which I currently have in my 4 year old "gaming" PC. Still disappointingly weak (for me anyway) considering that I thought these gpus performed closer to their desktop counterparts.
     
  18. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #18
    Well could you try the X-Plane demo and see if it gets the same fps. I will give you the settings.
     
  19. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #19

    Sure, what settings should I use?
     
  20. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #20
    Very high texture detail, 1080p, 4X AA, 4X AF, traffic set to Chicago , shadows set to overlay, all boxes ticked apart from show dear and birds on nice days and HDR. Set trees to lots and set building to lots. I get around 45fps when sitting in the 3D cockpit of the 747 at Seattle International Airport during the day with clouds set to 50%.
     
  21. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #21
    I am currently downloading the latest X-Plane demo and am wondering why the installer makes the Menu Bar disappear. Does anyone know?


    I just wanted to try it and give some test results for the GTX 670 I have in my Hackintosh.
     
  22. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #22
    Thats normal, if you go to the settings and tick the box next to resolution when it is installed, it will run full screen.
     
  23. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #23
    These are my results:

    Settings
    [​IMG]

    CPU and GPU usage
    [​IMG]

    Two Screenshots, first standard airport probably, second chosen upon restart of the application
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  24. MartinAppleGuy, Aug 14, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2014

    MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #24
    Right, so you are getting slightly lower FPS than my 750m (you are using the 2.5d cockpit though). Try the same config in a 747 (found in the mega planes folder I believe) then hover your mouse to get the top bar up during gameplay, and click view, then 3D cockpit. Then go to display and set the Lateral Field of View to around 0.850. Tell me what you get then. I get 45 when sitting on the runway in these settings.

    Is this a driver issue for the GTX 670 in OS X? What is your CPU/RAM config?
     
  25. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #25
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I don't know, if it is a driver issue, but I have the i7 3770K quad core CPU and 32 GB RAM.
     

Share This Page