what is the difference in photoshop from adobe and the one in the app store

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jeff4h, Dec 24, 2011.

1. jeff4h macrumors newbie

I am just getting started in photo editing. I can't afford almost seven hundred for adobe photoshop. What is the difference in photoshop in the app store. It is so much cheaper

2. Charcoalwerks macrumors regular

Charcoalwerks

The one in the App Store is "Ps Elements." It is more like an entry level version. It doesn't have all of the advanced features of "Ps Extended." It is still good for basic photo editing and resizing. If you want something for free that is closer to the extended version but not quite, you may want to try "Gimp."

3. seniorgeek macrumors member

I woud recommend that you check out Adobe Lightroom, an excellent photo organizing editing program, it is available for a trial run also. It is built primarily for digital photo editing, Photoshop may be an overkill for this, I believe LR will do everything you need it to do for photo editing. Do a Google for it and see all the helpful sites there are for it. Just my 2 cents!

4. chrf097 macrumors 68040

chrf097

Don't try Gimp. It's awful.

5. Charcoalwerks macrumors regular

Charcoalwerks

Hey, it's free? I'm not endorsing it.:cool:

6. chrf097 macrumors 68040

chrf097

Free doesn't mean good though. I'm a graphic artist and I would stay away from GIMP.

7. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

Pixelmator is great; not free, but no where near as expensive as Photoshop.

8. driftless macrumors demi-god

driftless

For someone who is asking the difference between PS and PS Elements, PS Elements is a great software to start with. I am not a fan of the free or semi-free software programs out there.

----------

FYI - there is a digital photography section on this board. Digital Photography

9. Charcoalwerks macrumors regular

Charcoalwerks