What is the optimal way to connect ASUS PA 279Q to Mac Book Pro Retina?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by herf, May 20, 2015.

  1. herf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #1
    Hey forum athletes!

    I’m new to the Apple computer scene (read never owned one until now). I do a great deal of product photography with touch-ups in Photoshop. I decided to buy a new monitor to connect with my Mac Book Pro Retina (13-inch, early 2015 Retina i5). I decided on the ASUS PA 279Q. Here´s the dilemma. The Mac Book consists of usb 3.0, HDMI and Thunderbolt 2.0 ports while the ASUS monitor consists of HDMI, Displayport 1.2 (not mini), Daisy-chain Displayport Output, Dual-link DVI-D.

    I obviously want the best possible signal and resolution. So my question is which method I should use? Googling the net the best suggestion is to send the signal using Thunderbolt 2.0 but how do I connect this to the monitor when the monitor only has the "bigger" displayport? I could connect the monitor via the HDMI-ports but does this generate the best signal and resolution?

    Thanx!

    //herf
     
  2. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #2
    Thunderbolt to display port cable.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. herf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #3
    Thanx for this. What worries me is that users of this monitor have had issues with the RGB because OS X thinks its a TV connected instead of a monitor. There are workarounds (downloading home made fixes) still I dont want to bother with this when im paying good money for the monitor. The forums i've visited never refer to the newest mbp early 2015 which has Thunderbolt 2.0. Do u or our fellow forum friends know if this bug is fixed with the Thunderbolt 2.0 and latest OS X update? In otherwords just go ahead and connect the mdp and the dp-port, like the cable u mentioned, and youre ready to go??

    //herf
     
  4. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #4
    Sorry I'm not sure as I have a NEC Spectraview 241 connected to my iMac with the cable I suggested with no issue.
    This thread seems to have some suggestions if you get stuck. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1884050
    So I'd just give it a go
     
  5. campyguy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #5
    The TB cable is not the best choice for your needs. DP 1.1a, by spec. We have many entry 4k displays (including two on my desk that I connect to my rMBP) and high-end displays some of my employees use. You'll read on DisplayPort.org that there's no such thing as a DP 1.2 cable but they're leaving a few bits (literally!) out.

    TL;DR - use DP 1.2 2160p cables, which is what we use.

    StarTech and Lindy sell them. I can definitely tell the difference in appearance and response time - it's palpable. DP 1.2 2160p have far more "DP" throughput than TB or "normal" DP cables, and I can see the difference between my StarTech cable connection on one display than a Dell-supplied/TB/DP 1.1a/DP 1.2 1600p cable - I tried out a comparison right on my desk. StarTech mDP>DP cables (take care to choose the correct one) are a third of the cost of a TB cable of the same length too...

    BTW, don't fret about "hacks" that a lot of us use - Windows users have been doing it for years. Apple uses DisplayID overrides for their own non-TB displays, you'll see them in the System>Library>Displays>Overrides folder - and Apple supplies them for several manufacturers too in the stock OS install.
     

Share This Page