What is your tips for keeping your Mac safe on open wifi hotspots?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Trey1984, Apr 18, 2012.

1. Trey1984 macrumors regular

How far do you go to protect your Mac?

What do you have installed/enabled?

Have you downloaded any safari extensions that work for you?

I'm new to my MacBook pro with lion and just want to make sure none of my work data is ever intercepted.

Have any of you turned on file vault? Is it worth it?

2. stridemat Moderator

stridemat

Staff Member

If you want 'absolute' security then subscribe to a VPN service.

3. Medic278 macrumors 6502a

Medic278

I make it a point not to transmit any sensitive data over an unsecured network, for example I won't access my bank accounts on public wifi. I also am careful about what files I open etc etc, to be fair though nothing but my credit info is really worth stealing lol

4. Trey1984 thread starter macrumors regular

What would you recommend? And do you personally believe that there should be a need for it? Or is the firewall pretty secure as everyone says? That the main reason I bought a Mac. 90% of the stuff on it is work related.

5. Freyqq macrumors 68040

use https:// sites when possible and dont do anything important like banking

6. stridemat Moderator

stridemat

Staff Member

I use ipredator. It's about £15 for 3 months, I turn it on and I don't worry about security.

7. No1nfoProvided macrumors 6502

If you have a computer you leave on all the time at home, you can install Hamachi from logmein and form your own VPN for free. That is one option. There are also multiple vendors that require a monthly fee that offer to host a VPN for you as well. In my opinion, VPN is pretty much overkill for most people, but it is safest way to use the internet.

Another good option is tunneling your internet traffic through SSH, which can get pretty complicated to set up.

8. Trey1984 thread starter macrumors regular