What Mac Do You Own!!

nickyj182

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 12, 2002
179
0
Morehead, KY
Hey! I'm really interested to here what Mac's you all out there own! I always hear you guys talking about your new iMacs or PowerBooks or PowerMacs. Doesn't anyone have the old iBooK!!!!! Right before I converted from PC I didn't know much about Apple and got my iBook exactly one week before the new one came out!!!! But I still love it a lot! Anyways here is what I have:

iBook 466 mhZ SE (Graphite) ----> Mine
192 MB Ram
10 Gig HD

iMac 500 mhZ (Indigo) ----> Brothers
576 MB Ram
20 Gig HD

Airport Base Station
2 Airport Cards
 

menoinjun

macrumors 6502a
Jul 7, 2001
567
0
Me:
Dual 533
768mb Ram
CDRW (soon to be superdrive. ONLY $100!!!)
Radeon (soon to be Gforce4MX FREE!!!)
40gig 7200
AudioMedia III Card
Adaptec SCSI (not using. scsi is too expensive!!)
17 Apple ADC CRT
Canon Canoscan 1220U scanner (awesome!)
Epson 888
SoundSticks
Microsoft Wheel Mouse Optical (I have to have a scroll wheel!!)

On sunday I'm buying for a roomate:
600mhz iBook 12.1" Combo for only $1100!! Getting it through work. (compusa)
He's getting a Digidesign MBox. (can't wait to borrow it!)

-Pete
 

eyelikeart

Moderator emeritus
Jan 2, 2001
11,849
0
Metairie, LA
my setups...

haven't we done this already?! ;)

at work:
PowerMac G4 400, OS 9.1
320 MB RAM, 20 gig HD, internal Zip 100
Mitsubishi Diamond Plus 91 19" CRT
Hewlett Packard ScanJet 4C (it's old but still great!)

at home:
PowerBook G4 500, OS 9.1 & 10.1 on separate partitions
384 MB RAM, 30 gig HD, DVD
external 10 gig FireWire HD
external Zip 250 USB
VST Smartdisk CD-RW FireWire
Pro Mouse

I think that about covers it!
 

AlphaTech

macrumors 601
Oct 4, 2001
4,556
0
Natick, MA
G4 500 DVD-RAM drive (soon to be replaced by new tower)
1.5GB RAM
27GB and 40GB hard drives
32MB ATI Radeon (Mac edition) on AGP
Macally mouse, Apple Pro keyboard

PowerBook G4 500MHz
512MB RAM
20GB hard drive (about to upgrade to a 60GB IBM drive)
Airport card

Rev a Airport base station.

Netgear 8 port ethernet switch (10/100).

Epson Perfection 2450 Photo scanner
Epson C80 printer

QPS QueFire 24x10x40 cdrw

VST/SmartDisk 30GB hard drive (Titanium version)

40GB Maxtor 7200rpm hard drive in an OWC Firewire enclosure.

ViewSonic VG175 (lcd) monitor attached to the G4 tower.
 

bobbyG4

macrumors newbie
Feb 13, 2002
15
0
well, i got

733 quicksilver
2x 40 gb HD
640mb RAM
1 geforce 2mx and 1 ati connecting....
Lacie 19" electron blue

running FCP, AE and photoshop.....

other stuff

canon XL1 DV camera

a chair
a desk
a lamp
a few pens
a couple of bits of paper

why do you want to know?
 

bobbyG4

macrumors newbie
Feb 13, 2002
15
0
what do u people do?

I would really like to know why you people have all this fancy equipment....... Do you put it all to good use...... i hope so.
 

eyelikeart

Moderator emeritus
Jan 2, 2001
11,849
0
Metairie, LA
Re: what do u people do?

Originally posted by bobbyG4
I would really like to know why you people have all this fancy equipment....... Do you put it all to good use...... i hope so.
I'm a production artist for a printing company...

and do freelance work on the side....and absolutely love Macs! :p
 

Backtothemac

macrumors 601
Jan 3, 2002
4,206
0
San Destin Florida
Here I go.

iMac Flower Power 600 MHZ G3
40 GB Hard Drive
1GB Ram
CDRW
Soundsticks

iBook 600 MHZ G3
20 GB Hard Drive
384 MB Ram
CDRW/DVD Combo
Soundsticks

I run virtual PC on the iBook at work and connect to the Windows Network there as a PC. I have Win 95, 98, ME, 2000, NT 4.0 and XP installed under VPC. I am a network support tech, so it helps me see what I am talking about. I have Office 97, 2000, and XP installed on 98, 2000, and XP.

I run Office 2001 under 9, and v.X under X. I always boot to X unless I am doing something in XP, and then I go to 9. XP is to slow under X. I have photoshop 6, and user FCP 2 for video editing.

I have 4,000 MP3's on the iMac, and everthing is networked with Airport. I map my iMac hard drive use iTunes, and output to the TV for visuals.
 

agreenster

macrumors 68000
Dec 6, 2001
1,892
2
Walt Disney Animation Studios
Yeah EyeLikeArt, once in a while the newbies get curious and we have to make a really long post with everyone's gear. It wont be too long until someone requests you put your equipment list in your signature again, and we have 35 line signatures taking up the pages.

Anyway:
400mHz G4 1GB ram 2Internal HD's---> 10gig/MAXTOR 80 gig
OS 9.2
Que Firewire CD Burner
Epson Laser Printer
HP FlatBed Scanner

550mHz TiBook 512 MB Ram 20 gig HD
 

Ensign Paris

macrumors 68000
Nov 4, 2001
1,781
0
Europe
Currently:

This is my home setup:

1. Dual800 with 17" Studio Display, 1.5gb RAM and Geforce 3 64mb (Pro Mouse & KBoard)

2. Powerbook 500 with 1gb RAM which is connected to my Epson EMP-500 Projector which makes me use a 6ft screen. Its the best EVER screen (Well to me!)

3. 34 other older macs

4. Sound Sticks of Powerbook and Sherwood Amp with 5.1 speakers (.1 is the sub)

This is my Work Setup:

1. Dual800 Web Server (With 733 QS backup server)

2. Dual533 as my machine with 667PbG4

Webserver upgrade is just about to happen to a 1ghz and a new distiller is on the way (iMac800)

Ensign
 

AlphaTech

macrumors 601
Oct 4, 2001
4,556
0
Natick, MA
Hey Ensign Paris

How do you like the 1GB of memory in your TiBook??? I can get the 512's for just under $200 from my favorite memory vendor. They will fit in both slots, are 222 spec and guranteed for life (mine or the computer's whichever ends up being shorter) :D .

I was thinking about just getting one, but now I am thinking about getting two. The only problem is, what do I do with the pair of 256 chips I have now??????????
 

agreenster

macrumors 68000
Dec 6, 2001
1,892
2
Walt Disney Animation Studios
BobbyG4

This is what I do: It not only utilizes the equipment, but puts them to the breaking point

Im a Computer Arts major at my University with a concentration in 3D computer animation, rendering, and special effects. Im also a professional Flash website/CD designer and graphic artist at a local agency (www.trentonbranding.com). In other words, while one computer is rendering my latest 3D scene, my laptop is busy working on Flash design or post production edits or sound clips. While Im not doing that, Im working on particle effects, or print ads, or an independent art project.

PLUS, school has a couple dual 800mHz G4's which I use to render on as well.

The more computers I have, the more work I get done. I could use some more ram too.
 

agreenster

macrumors 68000
Dec 6, 2001
1,892
2
Walt Disney Animation Studios
AlphaTech

I have the same problem. I have 512 in my PowerBook and would love to get a gig. Problem is, memory is back up price wise. Check out www.18004memory.com. They have a gig kit for the power book for about 350 last time I checked. Im getting ready to splurge and buy them, but what to do with the 2-256 chips I have.

eBay is the only thing I have thought of....
 

IndyGopher

macrumors 6502a
Nov 3, 2001
782
1
Indianapolis, IN
If you want to get top-dollar for your 256M SO-DIMMs, be sure to point out that they fit in that "User Accessible" memory slot in the new iMacs. There should be quite a market for them that way.
 

britboy

macrumors 68030
Nov 4, 2001
2,656
0
Kent, UK
My setup

Ok, so it's fairly small, but does what i need.

TiBook 500 w/384 mb ram, 20gig hard drive, logitech cordless optical mouse, cambridge soundworks speakers and subwoofer.
 

agreenster

macrumors 68000
Dec 6, 2001
1,892
2
Walt Disney Animation Studios
Originally posted by IndyGopher
If you want to get top-dollar for your 256M SO-DIMMs, be sure to point out that they fit in that "User Accessible" memory slot in the new iMacs. There should be quite a market for them that way.
The powerbook memory also fits in the new iMac? Call me stupid, but I didnt know that.

Hey, thanks for the info!!!
 

AlphaTech

macrumors 601
Oct 4, 2001
4,556
0
Natick, MA
Britboy... That's all that matters. As long as it does what you need it to do without crashing/freezing or generally causing you grief, what more do you need? That is one reason that I don't have a problem with using my TiBook for the next 6 months or so as a replacement for my desktop. Who knows, maybe it will work out well enough that I can go longer before replacing the tower.

agreenster... I just checked... $339 for the gig-o-ram kit... sweet. I am going to see if I can get my supplier to give it to me for the same price (sounds a bit like a drug deal, I know :D).

IndyGopher.. I think I will see if I can trade my current RAM in towards the upgrade. What's the worst thing they will say??? 'No'??
 

Ensign Paris

macrumors 68000
Nov 4, 2001
1,781
0
Europe
1gig of mem in the tibooks is great, especially because I run OSX full time.

In half an hours time I will have EVERY program for OSX that I want except Facespan which will come out soon!

Ensign
 

agreenster

macrumors 68000
Dec 6, 2001
1,892
2
Walt Disney Animation Studios
Originally posted by Ensign Paris
1gig of mem in the tibooks is great, especially because I run OSX full time.

In half an hours time I will have EVERY program for OSX that I want except Facespan which will come out soon!

Ensign
Ha ha! Yeah right! If you are anything like me, I always say that, then about a week later, I want to either upgrade, or something new will come out!!!

:D:D
 

IndyGopher

macrumors 6502a
Nov 3, 2001
782
1
Indianapolis, IN
QuickSilver 867 (1G/80+30/Zip250/SCSI)
QuickSilver 800dp (1.5G/80+80/GeForce 3)
PowerBook G4 500 (1G/48G)
iMac DV 400 (1G/30G)
CD Cyclone firewire CD/RW
2 WD 7200rpm firewire HDD's
21" Panasync CRT
18.1" Sony flat panel
17" Apple flat panel
iPod
9600/300 (256M/18G)
Color Classic (10M/80M)
SE fdhd (4M/20M)
Tektronix Phaser
ALPS dye sublimation

Several other old macs that aren't in use.. 475, LCIII, etc.

As to what I do with them.. the 800dp is hooked to the Tivo via a D/A converter to capture TV episodes, (Simpsons, Futurama, Buffy, SU2) and write them to CD's. With the others... mostly I raise the temperature of the room, and make the electrical bill look like a teenage girl's phone bill. Other than that, they sit idle. The iMac is the living room computer so I can surf the web and do email while I wait for the pizza guy, since the PowerBook that I intended to use for that is usually on (painfully slow) render duty. The 9600's sole purpose in life is to run the DLT tape library and Retrospect.
The other computer room in the house has the Suns, the NeXT, a few Atari MegaST's, a couple of STACY's, the Amiga, and the PC's. (Athlon TBird and P4)
 

eyelikeart

Moderator emeritus
Jan 2, 2001
11,849
0
Metairie, LA
Originally posted by agreenster
Ha ha! Yeah right! If you are anything like me, I always say that, then about a week later, I want to either upgrade, or something new will come out!!!

:D:D
I usually find everything I want and then am at bay for a few months....then something new comes out.....ha ha ha...

oh...btw...anyone wanting to get rid of a 256 chip let me know....curious to know how much u want.... ;)
 

AlphaTech

macrumors 601
Oct 4, 2001
4,556
0
Natick, MA
Originally posted by eyelikeart


I usually find everything I want and then am at bay for a few months....then something new comes out.....ha ha ha...

oh...btw...anyone wanting to get rid of a 256 chip let me know....curious to know how much u want.... ;)
If you are referring to the 256 for TiBook's... make me an offer... :D
 

jficca

macrumors newbie
Feb 13, 2002
7
0
Boston, MA
I have

a 867 w/ 640 mb

oh and.......

a power computing power center 150 (currently in the closet, but works like a charm)