What MBP for web design, photoshop, (minimal) video editing, photography?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Ksb-online, Aug 15, 2010.

1. Ksb-online macrumors regular

Hi Guys/Girls ..

I've been reading up on this forum for a while now constantly looking at new posts hoping to find some one in a similar situation to mine, I found a few answers but most of the posts went off on a tangent about something else - pretty annoying

SO, I was wondering, shall I get the 15" or 17" MBP for my needs, I want to be able to use it around the house as im fed up of being stuck up in my loft room in the summer working on websites/photoshop and not being able to "chill" out downstairs with the family.

Im a web designer/developer so my main use will be photoshop, illustrator, 3Dmax and dreamweaver.

I've just got my self a cheap SLR so I want to be able to edit some RAW/high resolution images (going to Thailand soon so really want to get some epic pictures from our travelling)

What do you guys recommend?

I was looking at the 15" but now im leaning towards the 17" ..

I will want to upgrade the RAM to 8GB but not go through the apple store as their prices are insane ..

Im also thinking about doing the optibay drive mod with an SSD as I heard its a good speed increase when working with large files, but I also have a very large film/music collection (500GB's worth) that I would like to keep with on the laptop too...

what to do ?!

**sorry about the essay**

2. Gabriel GR macrumors 6502a

Gabriel GR

For anything image related go with the antiglare 17". You can get 8gb of ram for 200 bucks and the SSD will be a nice addition.

Definitelly stay away from the 13" and the low resolution version of the 15".

That if you don't intend to use an external monitor.

3. Ksb-online thread starter macrumors regular

Yea I definitely don't want the 13" , i had one for a month earlier this year, it was about 2 years old and I struggled to "see" well with that screen size ..