What method of unclocking to be use the SIM card from any carrier any time you want!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by G4brat, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. G4brat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #1
    So i've been reading post from this forums and other sites, but I haven't been able to find a straight answer for my and some other users question. So here it is:

    Can I, with AnySim or any other software unlock program change SIM cards from any carrier as I please with out having to do anything else other than removing one card and installing the other?

    In my perticular case as my phone sits right now: ATT activated (using itunes since august) week 32, updated to 1.1.2, downgraded to 1.1.1 firmware and 04.01.13_G baseband, jailbroken last week.

    I ran anysim with my att card inside with no issues, but when I put in any other sim I get "different sim..must connect to Itunes" or something to that effect. I've read some post regarding "lockdown files" but it wasnt very clear. I've also read about a feature for Idemocracy, under "non ATT tools". I downloaded (Idemocracy 2.0) it but under that tab I only found features to downgrade or to revirginize. I also read other threads saying that I must run Anysim with another SIM card other than the ATT one to get it to work, I did and no luck. Anysim said it "could not unlock phone" and I should restart my phone.

    Just incase any one is wondering why I want to be able to do is, its because a travel international alot and I'm tired of paying $250-$300 a month for roaming and texting with att and want to use local cards.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    There must be a dozen threads here with the proper answers. Search!
     
  3. G4brat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #3
    I understand how anoying it is to read some of the threads with questions that have been asked and answered before. I've spent hours looking, but all I find is contradictory, outdated methods or the same questions thats never been replied to. I've also asked the same question in another forum and stumped one of the moderators with it. So I feel I've done my part in searching the web, any help will be appreciated!
     
  4. Mydel macrumors 6502a

    Mydel

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    Sometimes here mostly there
    #4
    Go to hacktheiphone.com There is everything you looking for
     
  5. G4brat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #5
    I did, that was the first method I used. It went through the process with no problems, except when I pulled my att sim out and put another one in, it did not work. After that, I restored it back to 1.1.1 and used the iphone.unlock.no/ tutorial with the same results.

    I understand what unlock means, my phone is not behaving like its unlocked.
     
  6. robjrussell macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    Newcastle, Aus
    #6
    just a thought..
    but once a new sim is placed you may have to do page 2 from hacktheiphone 1.1.1 tutorial to re-unlock for your new sim..
    to my understanding there's 2 steps. step 1 is accessing your springboard, installer app. etc, and step 2 is the unlock process..
    yea kind of annoying.. but 5 minutes in this instance can save your pocketbook big time.
     
  7. robjrussell macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    Newcastle, Aus
    #7
    in fact.. you could just leave anysim right on your phone..
     
  8. G4brat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #8
    Yeah, I found out that Carnaval and Idemocracy will install a lockdown file that will allow you to put in any SIM card you want with out having to re-unlock the phone. My new issue is that from what I've read, Carnaval assumes the phone has never been activated. It uses the "*#307#...." method and I'm not sure how to run it since my phone is ATT activated and Idemocracy has you downgrade to 1.0.2, but my phone wont let me. I get an "Iphone can not be restored...error 1" message. So my quest continues!

    Happy new year!
     

Share This Page