WHAT!!! Only 29.63GB!!! But I paid for 32.00GB!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by EatMyApple, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. EatMyApple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #1
    Just wanted to be the first to put this up......

    But do both the 32GB and 16GB have about 2GB used up? Just curious...
     
  2. BMac702 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #2
    This is obviously your first iPhone;) but yes they do. The OS and stuff take up some space
     
  3. Rat-Boy macrumors 65816

    Rat-Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Georgia
    #3
    Even my 3G is like this.

    I think they hold some for the OS.
     
  4. chhhrrriiisss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #4
    My 3g is 16 and it only had like 14.something.
     
  5. EatMyApple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #5
    No I upgraded from a 3G iPhone - I knew it would happen, but just wanted to be the first to "complain" as I know someone else will and seriously have beef over it somehow.
     
  6. BMac702 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #6
    You could have a mod sticky this thread and I guarantee there will be at least 2 more threads about this lol
     
  7. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Way to aim high
     
  8. pintnight macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    #8
    Do you complain when you buy a computer that came with a 1 TB harddrive but X amount is missing?

    Ever heard of the OS is taking part of that space. :rolleyes:
     
  9. vrflyer macrumors 6502

    vrflyer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #9
    Ugh, here we go again ....

    To the OP, search the forums, this has been discussed many times.:rolleyes:
     
  10. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

    PoitNarf

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    #10
    Not only does the OS take up some space, but the raw storage is counted as 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes when the iPhone sees 1GB = 1,073,741,824 bytes. This is the way pretty much all storage is advertised by hard drive and solid state drive manufacturers. Oh, and you also lose some space from the file system overhead.
     
  11. Nikos macrumors 68000

    Nikos

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    Fixed.
     
  12. hellomoto4 macrumors 6502a

    hellomoto4

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    You will usually see on the website and such:
    It's really annoying though I reckon.
     
  13. ohio.emt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #13
    This is normal. It is like a hard drive. Hard drives use decimal gigabytes. That is, a “GB” consists of 1,000,000,000 bytes.

    However, computers interpret gigabytes in binary. To a computer, 1 GB = 2^30 bytes, or 1,073,741,824 bytes
     
  14. duelingdragons macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
  15. Prolif1k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    #15
    Wow you guys are quick. The OP is using something called sarcasm.
     
  16. awad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #16
    This.
     
  17. JBaker122586 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #17
    Weird.
    My iPhone only has 29.3GB, not 29.6 like the OP says...
     
  18. Nikos macrumors 68000

    Nikos

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #18
    I'm just playing along :p
     
  19. EatMyApple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #19
    If you ain't first, your last!

    Bingo! I wasn't seriously complaining - just wanted to post the thread to safe some poor soul some internet forum embarrassment. We've all been there, done that.
     
  20. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
  21. thekaptn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #21
  22. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

    Jeremy1026

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #22
    Dude! My 500GB hard drive only has a capacity of 465.76GB, I got ripped off!



    Moron
     
  23. Rat-Boy macrumors 65816

    Rat-Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Georgia
    #23
    Had you read the thread you would know why the OP is posting this. :rolleyes:
     
  24. waterskier2007 macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #24
    your life is complete, you pointed out something on macrumors
     
  25. Buschmaster macrumors 65816

    Buschmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #25
    What about my last?:confused:
     

Share This Page