What program works like istat menus that works with Lion but free?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by ozziegn, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. ozziegn macrumors 6502a

    ozziegn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central FL Area
    #1
    as the title says.

    I need an istat menu program that works with Lion but is free.
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  3. Maccleduff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #3
    Or iStat menus version 2.0 if you can find it. It's the free version, before 3.0 came out. Still works fine with Lion.
     
  4. jcoffey784 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    #4
    i second menu meters. used it in snow leopard, and now in lion as well. excellent for its intended purpose. i am still looking for something like "conky" (linux system monitor) for os x though...
     
  5. ozziegn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ozziegn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central FL Area
    #5
    sweet thanks. I found a 2.0 download link. only question is it says there's a 10.5 version and a 10.4 version. Can I assume the 10.5 is what works with Lion since it should be newer?
     
  6. marsmissions macrumors 6502

    marsmissions

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    Washington, US
    #6
    Always go with the newest.

    The 10.4 version is probably a universal binary or it might be ppc only since tiger ran on ppc macs as well as intel macs.

    10.4 version might require rosetta to run.
     
  7. ozziegn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ozziegn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central FL Area
  8. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #8
    Runs fine on my Mac Pro with Lion, but it was installed long ago and then the machine upgraded to Lion. Perhaps that makes a difference?
     
  9. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    Have you already tried my earlier suggestion?

     
  10. Maccleduff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #10
    Same here, had 2.0 installed on Snow Leopard previously and upgrade installed to Lion.

    Working in Lion after that.
     
  11. axu539 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    #11
    macupdate currently has istat menus for 12. It's not that much money, and it is a fantastic program. I sprung for it the other day, even though I'd been using 2.0 for the longest time. The developers are great. why not support them?
     
  12. adder7712 macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    I'm still using iStat 2 and it works perfectly with Lion.

    I have an app that dates back to 2006 that still works with Lion.
     

Share This Page