What should I get for my New MacBook Pro - 8GB or 16GB RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shopsmart99, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. shopsmart99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #1
    What should I get for my New MacBook Pro - 8GB or 16GB RAM?

    I am getting conflicting answers from people.
    Some say, the New MacBook Pros can only support 8 GB of RAM
    and others are saying they support up to 16 GB of RAM.....

    Who is right?

    Thanks!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    The 2011 MBPs can support up to 32 GB RAM, but only 8 GB modules have been available since early 2011, thus those MBPs can have up to 16 GB RAM.


    But do you even need the RAM?
     
  3. Adamantoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #3
    I think you'll be fine with 8GB of RAM. But if you want bragging rights then go ahead of spend the money on the 16GB.

    Unless you do some serious virtualization I doubt you'll be seeing any differences in performance though.
     
  4. shopsmart99 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #4
    Thanks, Does anyone recommend Crucial or OWC or NewEgg ?
     
  5. trikky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #5
    I'd say it's based on your own preference. They're all pretty reputable.
     
  6. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #6
    The early 2.0 Only supports 16GB, The same as the late 2.2 15".
    Crucial and owc are good. New egg is not a maker of ram, they are a retailer.
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    You mean, the chipsets employed in those machines only support 16 GB RAM?
     
  8. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #8
    Yup.
     
  9. trajan2448 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #9
  10. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Well techinically all the chipsets are the same, it's the specific processors that Apple chooses for their base configurations that do not support more than 16GB of RAM.

    I do not use virtualization, but I often find myself strapped for RAM… sometimes even my swap is more than 50GB in size.
     

Share This Page