What should I get to supplement the SSD of my Retina Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TheChad25, Jun 24, 2012.

1. TheChad25 macrumors newbie

Hi everyone, I just ordered a new Macbook Pro Retina display with 16gb Ram, the 256GB SSD, & the 2.3 GHz processor. I currently use about 550 GB on my 2007 iMac that I'm migrating away from. I'm a graphic designer that does a lot of work with Photoshop & Illustrator. I also do a little web design, have a large iPhoto collection, and a pretty big iTunes collection too.

I'm worried 256 GB won't be enough for me, so how can I make the most of what I have? I've heard it's important to install your actual programs on the SSD (is that accurate?), but should I put all my photos, music, movies, etc on an external drive? Is it a better solution to put it 'in the cloud'? I've considered iTunes match but haven't tried it, and that only solves part of the problem. If an external drive is the way to go, should I go USB 3.0, Thunderbolt, or does it matter? What about external ssd/hdd? I'm up for suggestions on a good external drive.

I haven't really done much computer shopping since 2007 and since technology has changed a lot since then, I could use some help and explanations of why your solution is best since I'm new to USB 3.0, Thunderbolt, SSDs, etc. Also, the laptop stretched my budget, so the cheaper the solution to the storage issues, the better, thanks!

2. appleguy123 macrumors 603

appleguy123

Anything with Thunderbolt would be prohibitively expensive, so you Shoukd probably go with USB 3.

3. Rmafive macrumors 6502

Check out Seagate. You can get a usb 3.0 external drive that you can upgrade to thunderbolt down the road if you need an increase in speed (for only $180).

4. jcpb macrumors 6502a

I keep my music (MP3 and AAC, these are synced with my iPhone) directly on the MBPR, but the FLAC version stays on external. Only a small subset of my pictures and movies go on the MBPR for space reasons.