What steps are needed to unlock a Sprint iPhone 4 to work..

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MacChinoNyc, May 28, 2013.

  1. MacChinoNyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #1
    on prepaid tmo or similar. Does it need to be jailbroken?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    You can't unlock a Sprint iPhone 4 to work on a GSM network.
     
  3. Apple Trees macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
  4. MacChinoNyc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #4
    How about a cdma prepaid? I dont know.
    Also any good referral for unlocking the phone? Or is there a way to do it yourself?
     
  5. EstaVidaLoca macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #5
    Why does this question get asked every day yet nobody knows that it's not going to happen?
     
  6. MacChinoNyc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #6
    I'm not here everyday. So its useless to unlock a sprint iphone 4 basically?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    I don't even think a sprint iphone 4 exists. Sprint only had the 4S and iphone 5.
    And even if it did it would be a CDMA iphone without a sim tray.
    Where do you plan on sticking the sim card?
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    Sprint has an iPhone 4. It's only comes in the 8GB model.
     
  9. DayOfChaos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    #9
    Sprint can not be unlocked. Verizon can now, which is pretty new.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Good catch, thank you;)

    Verizon iphone 4 cannot be unlocked either.
    Look at the title of the thread.
    Not an iphone 5.
     
  11. Beenblacklisted macrumors 6502

    Beenblacklisted

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Location:
    Miami,Fl
    #11
    open the phone, find the antenna, remove it, replace with antenna from gsm enabled , phone, and reflash the baseband. If you dont have gsm antenna, remove cdma antenna, and reprogram the signal to accept gsm, it can be done, as there are grey market businesses, that are buying cdma phones, shipping them to china, and 3rd party factories are doing this exact thing.
     
  12. Akack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    1. sell sprint iphone 4
    2. buy tmobile iphone 5...voila you can use prepaid tmo
     
  13. ValerieDurden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    #13
    You could use it on Ting which is a Sprint MVNO.
     
  14. alastairhall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    #14
    What steps are needed to unlock a Sprint iPhone 4 to work..

    Well it hurts you my friend, but sprint phones can’t be unlock just because they don’t have IMEI number.
     

Share This Page