What to buy?! Music producer

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MachaonDj, Feb 22, 2014.

1. MachaonDj macrumors newbie

Hi guys. Just needed a bit of guidance on this matter. I am a dj and producer using software like Logic Pro X and traktor pro. I currently have a mid 2010 MacBook Pro , 500 GB HD with 8gb memory.

I use this MB for everything. Photos,videos,music and it's got so slow recently. Probably because I have tons of files I don't really need but don't want to lose.

I wanted a bit of advice on what to do. Wait for the new Mac mini and connect it to my new lg 42 LCD where my studio space is. Or go for a new MBP retina or IMac. Or just stick with my current set up and just upgrade components.

Any advice and feedback would be appreciated .

Thanks in advance

2. Music_Producer macrumors 68000

An SSD upgrade would make a *huge* difference. I use a 2009 MBP and it works just fine with Logic (with plugins, virtual instruments, etc) More memory is always better of course.

IF you're a dj, I would suggest buying a MBP as you can take it with you, obviously - to gigs and such. I prefer my MBP to my iMac (which is more powerful) .. just more convenient to take it along on trips and edit audio on the fly.

3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

Macman45

I use Logic on two Macs:

First is a 2013 iMac

3.4GHZ CPU
    2GB 680M GPU ( you have the option for a 4GB card now)
    3TB Fusion Drive ( the larger SSD option is now available, I'd take it )
    32GB RAM
    27" Screen

Second is an rMBP that I use for edits:

3GHZ CPU
    8GB RAM ( you have to choose this at purchase time)
    500GB SSD

I have an external 2TB WD In a custom CIT enclosure that I use with the rMBP

The iMac is fast...very fast, but would be even better with that large SSD in it,

I have a Pegasus R4 which holds my media libraries...It's full now and I've just bought a Lacie Porsche 4TB unit ( USB 3) for a cost effective expansion.

I think if it were me I'd go for an iMac...