What to do with free web hosting?

kilpajr

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 24, 2004
Auburn, AL
I signed up for 3 years free of 1&1 web hosting. I think they did this when they started to get their name out. I have no web programming experience except for a class I am taking right now where we are designing a very basic e-commerce website. I would create a website but I don't want to just put up a crappy one just to have one. This is my question, where can I find information on creating a good-looking website (i.e. macrumors, apple, etc.)? HTML is pretty simple but I don't see how to create great-looking webpages using it. Thanks for any resources you can give me.

Also, what advice would you give to a beginning website designer? I was thinking of creating a site/blog targeted to switchers/new users about the experiences and things I have learned since switching to the enjoyable/capable/non-crashing apple platform :) . I know everyone has a blog but I would be posting regularly, either weekly or biweekly and would try to provide good information.

kilpajr said:
I signed up for 3 years free of 1&1 web hosting. I think they did this when they started to get their name out. I have no web programming experience except for a class I am taking right now where we are designing a very basic e-commerce website. I would create a website but I don't want to just put up a crappy one just to have one. This is my question, where can I find information on creating a good-looking website (i.e. macrumors, apple, etc.)? HTML is pretty simple but I don't see how to create great-looking webpages using it. Thanks for any resources you can give me.