What to expect going from 1920x1200 (17") to Retina Display (15")?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hajime, Sep 16, 2012.

1. hajime macrumors 68030

Hello, I have been using the 17" MBP for a few years. I feel very comfortable with the 1920x1200 font size and matte screen. What should I expect if I switch to a 15" Retina Display? I suppose that with the higher resolution, I may see more things (larger screen estate) but at smaller, more difficult to read font? Thanks.

2. ninja2000 macrumors 6502

Unless you use a terminal command the highest res you can set is 1920x1200 so it will actually be the same as the 17" but obviously slightly smaller to your eye due the the reduction in screen size.

That said, I actually prefer the retina's 1920x1200 than the 17" as the screen is much clearer.

Obviously you will get a slightly more reflection too as you are moving from an antiglare to a glass panel, but it is not as bad as the mbpc

3. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

yusukeaoki

Had it for a month and I personally liked the 17in more.
    More screen size and 1920x1200.
    And yes you will see some more glare if you move from AG to glossy.

4. Pagga macrumors 6502

Pagga

Closer to the Artic circle than I like to be
    Hey,

I´ve been using a 17" MBP from 2009 (that I still have). Bought/switched to retina this summer.

First of all: the screen is much, much better generally speaking.
    I´ll also submit that the machine overall feels better, both design wise and performance wise. Fair enough, it being the next step in the Apple evolution.
    Obviously size and weight are huge improvements coming from a 17".
    However, there are a lot of smaller features that I really appreciate. Keyboard, keyboard illumination, tightness of lid, fan construction, start button - everything is slightly better built. Love the little tilt they gave the hollowed out lid opening space in front of the track pad (for lack of better name).