what will happen to the mac pro 1,1 2,1 3,1 and 4,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jdasikainen, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. jdasikainen macrumors 6502

    jdasikainen

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Bald Knob Arkansas
    #1
    i know the 1,1 and 2,1 have only been unsupported for a while now since lion so do you all think we will get it up and running and do you think that the 3,1 and 4,1 will be upgradable as well. I'm in the state where i use a 1,1 as my main machine. so I'm hoping for the best. what do you all think will happen in this regard.
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    I think all of them can eventually run the new MacOS. 4,1 should be able to run it natively after flash to 5,1. The other just need some work around. Of course, just my pure guess, base on absolutely nothing.
     
  3. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #3
    Quod erat demonstrandum. Still have to be proven.
     
  4. Amethyst macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #4
    For my opinions, the 2009 mac pro is 7 years old computer.
    yes it still great, fast, capable machine. (especially who put dual 6 core cpu in it)
    but 7 years old computer is way senescence.
     
  5. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #5
    Doesn't matter because Intel CPU progress is less than 5% per year.
     
  6. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #6
    This is what I was thinking. Something tells me Apple will try and insert the odd roadblock. I may be wrong but I through that a flashed 4,1 still had something different from an original 5,1?

    My, (I believe original), 5,1 has the following;

    Boot ROM Version: MP51.007F.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.39f11
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f11

    Can anybody with a flashed model verify theirs is the same?
     
  7. tsialex macrumors newbie

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    On a 4,1 flashed to 5,1, the SMC version is different:
    Boot ROM Version: MP51.007F.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5

    Works with macOS 10.12, tested with 8800GT (very slow animations, but works) and HD7870.
     
  8. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #8
    I thought there was something. Maybe Apple will design the installer to recognise this difference?
     
  9. tsialex macrumors newbie

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    Tested and works with macOS 10.12, 8800GT (some very slow animations, but works) and HD7870. Tomorrow I'll try with GT120, but if 8800GT was slow…

    P.S.:

    Original 2009 AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x88) didn't work with beta1, no drivers.
     
  10. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #10
    Well this is good then.
     
  11. tsialex, Jun 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016

    tsialex macrumors newbie

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #11
    Just one thing, original MA688Z/B AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x88) didn't work with beta1, no drivers.

    [​IMG]

    Edited with the AirPort Extreme SKU: MA688Z/B
     
  12. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #12
    Yep, mine is 0x14E4, 0x8E. Maybe you can copy it across from somewhere.
     
  13. tsialex macrumors newbie

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #13
    I have one AirPort Extreme from the last MacBook White, the model that has AirDrop (BCM94322MC) and I think it's the 0x8E. I'll test it.
     
  14. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #14
    Let us know how you get on.
     
  15. tsialex, Jun 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016

    tsialex macrumors newbie

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #15
    One more thing, Sierra now natively supports VLI VL805 USB3 chipset. Lose some, win some ;)
     
  16. rezwits macrumors 6502a

    rezwits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #16
    The 4,1s become 5,1s that's about all I got...
     
  17. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #17
    I have a real 5,1 and it reads just like yours.
     
  18. tsialex, Jun 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016

    tsialex macrumors newbie

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #18
    Since I'm without Wi-Fi on macOS Sierra, removed the original MA688Z/B AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x88) BCM94321MC that didn't work with beta1.
    [​IMG]
    Tried one BCM94322MC, originally from a broken mid-2009 MacBook White.
    [​IMG]

    Bingo, now Sierra has Wi-Fi and it's the same ID (0x14E4, 0x8E) from the 2010 Mac Pro AirPort Extreme.

    [​IMG]
    Just one problem: I think one antenna is badly/wrongly connected on the AirPort Extreme, only got 150Mbps on Sierra and El Cap. So, I'll have to disassemble again…
     
  19. Fangio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #19
    Hmm..? I had WiFi working right away today, on a 4,1 / 5,1 with the original 0x14E4 0x8E card that it came with, when custom ordered 2009 from Apple. (Sierra DP1 installation was a breeze as expected btw). Same card, same chipset, and WiFi speed is just fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. tsialex, Jun 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016

    tsialex macrumors newbie

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #20
    Mine came with MA688Z/B AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x88) BCM94321MC, maybe you bought latter on the year?
     
  21. Fangio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #21
    May well be they used different cards over the time of production. Seems not a Sierra problem anyway.
     
  22. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #22
    May be that B08 firmware Mac shipped with another Wi-Fi card.
     
  23. tsialex macrumors newbie

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #23
    Anyway, Apple removed support for BCM94321MC from the Sierra driver…

    If i remember correctly, BCM94321MC is one of the most common Broadcom Wi-Fi on 2008/early 2009 Macs, checked some of my old Macs around and I have the exactly same board on my MacBook5,2/early 2009 and on iMac8,1/early 2008. I think it's the same chipset on mini3,1 too, albeit with another form factor, have to confirm that later.

    Latter Macs have BCM94322MC, this one has AirDrop.
     
  24. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #24
    I bought my Mac Pro 4,1 in February 2009, right after release, and it has 0x14E4, 0x8E (BCM43xx 1.0).
     
  25. LarrikinAus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #25
    I've been running Sierra for about 8 hours now and the "bird" process is still flat out - has anyone else experienced that?
     

Share This Page