MP 1,1-5,1 What you need to do to make Catalina work with MacPro5,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tsialex, Jun 3, 2019.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. donluca macrumors regular

    donluca

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Location:
    Italy
    #376
    Ouch.
     
  2. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 68000

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #377
    I may have to go hackintosh eventually. It's a shame, but what other option is there for someone who wants more than a mini or cylinder MP, but definitely doesn't want to drop new Mac Pro money? Windows? o_O
     
  3. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #378
    Wasn't a shock to me, since I eWasted all of my pre-IvyBridge systems years ago.

    The cMP systems are far past their 'best by' dates, time for eWaste - not whining about support for obsolete processors.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 17, 2019 ---
    I think that's what Apple wants you to go for.
     
  4. macsba macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Location:
    Next to my Mac.
    #379
    I got my MacPro 5,1 working with the latest Catalina beta (dev number 4).

    Darmok: What a great episode of ST:TNG that was. What an interesting use of metaphors.
     
  5. MrRedfield macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    #380
    Random question, Will running catalina on our 5,1 be going against the EULA?
     
  6. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #381
    Calling all 1,1-4,1 owners!
     
  7. startergo macrumors 65816

    startergo

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #382
    They can't/won't officially support the CPU's for which Intel did not provide mitigation.
     
  8. Speedstar macrumors regular

    Speedstar

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #383
    I do not understand this kind of arguments because microcodes patches have to be released for 5.1 with Mojave at least too, it is impossible to force us to shut down multi threading to be secure...
     
  9. tsialex thread starter macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #384
    Why Apple have to release something that do not exist at all?

    Microcodes are made by Intel in a totally proprietary and heavily copyrighted format. If Intel don’t offer a microcode update, Apple, or any other Xeon vendors, can't do anything about it.

    This was the last nail in the MP5,1 coffin. Apple just diminished the exposure to the exploits with the option of disabling SMT, the only thing that they could do at all.
     
  10. Speedstar macrumors regular

    Speedstar

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #385
    again if there secure fixes for mojave for at least next two years why is needed anything to be done with xeons for the release of Catalina ?
     
  11. tsialex thread starter macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #386
    What you didn't understood?

    Mojave is still vulnerable to MDS attacks when running with any pre-Ivy Bridge processor(s), read the Apple support document Additional mitigations for speculative execution vulnerabilities in Intel CPUs. Pay attention to this part:

    Btw, it's not just Hyperthreading, that Apple gives you the option to disable, but AES-NI instructions that are vulnerable too. The later are not patched at all with anything earlier than Ivy-Bridge.
     
  12. Auggie macrumors 6502

    Auggie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #387
    From your post, I decided to try the DosDude tool on my spare 5.1 Server that is currently not in use and upgraded its existing HS install to DP4. Did not run the patches as you suggested, however, if your declaration that it would leave a "100% Vanilla macOS 10.15 Catalina," that is factually incorrect if your definition of "vanilla" is a completely unpatched, unmodified Catalina exactly the same as if installed on a supported Mac.

    The evidence (screen shots included):
    1. DosDude's Patcher Update is present in System Preferences
    2. WiFi is fully functional with the original, supposedly unsupported Airport card installed
    I will eventually use either the "supported Mac install" method or the VMWare method, but in the meantime now that it's installed, I'll start checking for any incompatibilities on it when I have time. Since it's not one of my "daily" machines (2012 MBP with DP4 at work, 2012 cMP with Mojave at home) nor does it have any appreciable software installed on it, I won't be having much hands-on productive sessions with this machine.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. startergo macrumors 65816

    startergo

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #388
    After my post there were several revisions to the patching tool not sure how the latest tool works.
     
  14. jhowarth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    #389
    From 1.0b5, the patched usb installer Catalina Patcher produces automatically applies a preset suite of patches. The rationale is to solve the issues with installing on Macs with graphics cards lacking EFI support for the option boot screen.
     
  15. dustwashere macrumors member

    dustwashere

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Location:
    Russia
    #390
    help guys
    I installed the catalina on the hard disk (this HDD disk is now in boxing) using the macbook pro 2018. Where and how can I add an argument so that I can boot from this hard disk using my mac pro. In the terminal using recovery? I'm sorry for stupid
     
  16. dustwashere macrumors member

    dustwashere

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Location:
    Russia
    #392
    if you are unnoticed, I even quoted the first post.
    But thanks for the link, read again and ask again
     
  17. crjackson2134, Jul 21, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2019

    crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #393
    Did you not understand or did you fail to read the whole post? Perhaps I don’t understand what you are asking.

    Boot into recovery, open terminal, enter command...

     
  18. dustwashere macrumors member

    dustwashere

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Location:
    Russia
    #394
    wich command? this command "-no_compat_check"? (without quotes)or this command "-no_compat_check added", or this command "-no_compat_check added to the Mac Pro NVRAM boot-args"?
     
  19. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #395
    It seems like you aren’t reading post #1 at all...

    IL
     
  20. dustwashere macrumors member

    dustwashere

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Location:
    Russia
    #396
    was reading. I personally did not understand that we are talking about this team, it is already under the information about turning off the SIP
    thanx
     
  21. dustwashere macrumors member

    dustwashere

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Location:
    Russia
    #397
    I connected the hard drive in the box to the MacBook Pro 2018, installed Catalina. put a disk in makpro. the system booted without additional actions (without commands in the terminal). Just loaded and running
     
  22. iamdavid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    #398
    I have a converted 2010 5,1 Mac Pro with 2 x 6-core 3.46 processors, 64GB RAM. I downloaded the patcher and ran it, got a fresh copy of the Catalina beta and made a bootable USB stick all on the this Mac. I then started from that and installed a new Catalina system on a spare OWC PCIe SSD, and it works and runs as if it was made to do so. Wireless, bluetooth, the GeForce GT 630, everything. I was able to install Photoshop, and Keyboard Maestro without a hitch.

    Congrats and thanks to all those who put in the hard work to make these things happen.

    Now how do I make Music and Books work so I can have audiobooks and music on my 7th Generation iPod...?
     
  23. tsialex thread starter macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #399
    You probably will have to make this question in the macOS Catalina (10.15) forum.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page