whats new in firefox 3 nightly, developing story, new shortcuts for switching tabs

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by clevin, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #1
    I think I should just start a thread like this so I don't need to create a new one every time something new was added.
    You can always check daily update of all platforms here http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewforum.php?f=23 here I will just report interesting changes (I expect) mac users care about...

    download nightly build from here ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/nightly/latest-trunk/

    20080410

    proto theme is still changing,
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    20040404

    Scroll down for details

    20080402
    Beta5 released, This is last beta. Firefox RC1 will be out in second half of April (may delay tho).

    20080327
    This is NOT beta 5
    This is beta 5 Release Candidate 2. grab it at ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/nightly/3.0b5-candidates/rc2/

    20080326
    This is NOT beta 5
    This is beta 5 Release Candidate 1. grab it at ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/nightly/3.0b5-candidates/rc1/

    20080319

    scroll down for detailed comparison.

    20080308
    scroll down for details

    20080227
    scroll down for details

    20080217
    scroll down for details

    20080207
    Previous updated since firefox 2
     
  2. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    I'm pretty sure Firefox 3 wasn't rewritten in Cocoa...
     
  3. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #3
    It is. I think you are misunderstanding cocoa with "aqua". cocoa is API, while aqua is only UI.
     
  4. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Well, claiming Firefox is "rewritten in Cocoa" is a bit of a stretch. It does use an NSWindow for its window though, and definitely more of it is using Cocoa than before. iirc most of the control drawing is done using HITheme, which is a modern-style Carbon API.

    However, the important thing is that they're moving off of Quickdraw and old-style Carbon APIs in favor of Core Graphics and Cocoa/HI*.

    The "memory leak fix" item is also a little misleading in that it implies that Firefox's memory growth is due to a single issue. There have been many many leak fixes, as well as some fragmentation fixes, but both efforts are still progressing.
     
  5. Aranince macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    I just installed a nightly build of FF3...its quite snappy.
     
  6. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    I don't know if its a stretch, I believe its at least "mostly" in cocoa, if you want to imply that only small portion of it is in cocoa, I would be glad to do more research and respond to that.

    No, you are right on that, memory leaks happens everywhere, and no browsers is doing much better than firefox anyway. Mozilla did plug and fix leaks here and there.
     
  7. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    a new function (maybe) I didn't even realized before.

    1. open a new tab (#1) and goto any page with input area

    2. open another tab (#2) and goto some website

    3. you can drag the url from that webpage created in tab#2, and move onto tab #1, firefox will switch focus for you, and you can drop that url into the input area!

    This is very useful when you try to paste urls, text, image addresses across all the tabs in your browser.
     
  8. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #8
    first. I would like to say sorry to mod, I won't be able to merge all the previous posts since I report these changes whenever they happen, and its quite necessary, IMHO, to add new post to "bump" the discussion. lol. Thanks

    20080217
    zoom text only, if checked from view->zoom menu, will revert firefox 3's zoom function to the way firefox 2 handles the issue.

    by default, firefox do fullpage zoom for you, which includes the page structure, image, text altogether. This is one of the "advantage" brought by switching to cairo 2D rendering.

    PS. Cairo will reach 1.6.0 final release very soon, I suspect firefox 3 will ship with that version eventually.

    Cairo is the 2D rendering library firefox 3 will be using, which is responsible for a lot of exciting new features you will find in firefox 3. such as across tabs/windows drag and drop of elements (text, url, image address, etc)
     
  9. Nick012 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    #9
    Has anyone else noticed that dragging a .jpg onto the desktop saves it as a .jfif? Its really bugging me ;_;
     
  10. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    yes, i have to manually rename the ext for that. I will do a search and see if the bug has been reported.
     
  11. Aronnax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #11
  12. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #12
    great, looks like patch has been created, waiting for reviews..
     
  13. geek-inthe-pink macrumors member

    geek-inthe-pink

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #13
    IMHO, Firefox three is the best browser ever! I used to be a die hard Safari fan - when I posted this in the "best Browser" thread:
    ZOMG! This is unbelievable... for a 512 RAM mac mini, too...
    clevin was right! Wow! The only request is for FF3 to be written in 99% cocoa, and more aqua before it's released.

    But, wow!
     
  14. snakedoctor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #14
    I can choose to create a new folder when adding a new bookmark......like I could in FF 2.

    Is it gone in FF3 or just a bug right now. Its the only thing standing in my way of using the nightly builds as my default browser.
     
  15. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #15
    Keyhole is a design of back/forward buttons for firefox 3, it landed on Vista/XP version long time ago, and appears today on mac as well.

    [​IMG]

    Personally, I think its ok, not spectacular, but quite unique.

    Also, rumors has it that firefox 3 will have another beta (5) before final. This is an impressive update from firefox 2, I understand a lot of bugs need to be fixed. Will report more info when have them.
     
  16. lofight macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #16
    Look's very nice! I've downloaded a nightly build a while ago and it seems quite nice! But i still like safari more!
     
  17. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #17
    firefox 3 nightly is a rocket ride. You are welcome to try it out when beta 4 released, and maybe beta 5, and final.
     
  18. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #18
    OK, so I'm trying out FF3Nightly, and there is one feature of Safari I miss, is there a plug-in to give me icons that reflect how far a long a download is?

    Oddly iGlasses opens with it. I have turned that off now, but strange.

    The default scrolling is jagged and smooth-scrolling is dreadful
     
  19. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #19
    detail, i don't quite understand this question yet :(
    i assume you are talking about touch pad pixel scrolling. Since mice scroll are pretty much the same in firefox and safari.

    Firefox 3's touch pad smooth scroll is improved compare to firefox 2. And it is indeed very close to what safari does as well. You need to make sure to enable smooth scroll in preference->advanced->General, since firefox has smooth scroll disable by default.

    You can follow the development of this bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=350471
     
  20. karenflower macrumors 6502a

    karenflower

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #20
    Wow, I'm glad it's automatically disabled - makes me feel dizzy lol!

    Overall I love how FF3 is coming along. . *is a fan of the keyhole* :D
     
  21. lofight macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #21
    I miss this too!! :p

    this:
     

    Attached Files:

  22. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #22
    you mean this?
     

    Attached Files:

  23. lofight macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #23
    this yes,
    How come you version DOES have it??
     

    Attached Files:

  24. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #24
    my version is default?

    type "about:" in your url bar and enter, then grab the UA for me?
     
  25. lofight macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #25
    oh, it works again. But yesterday on a other computer Firefox 3 beta didn't show the load thingys
     

Share This Page