What's the max amount of RAM an iMac can have to run BootCamp & Parallels Windows 7?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by doxavita, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. doxavita macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #1
    I'm thinking of upgrading my 2011 27" iMac's RAM from the stock 4GB up to 12GB. But I also plan on installing and running Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) through Boot Camp and also Parallels.

    What's the max amount of RAM I can have installed in that case? Will Windows 7 recognize the 12GB installed without a problem?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    As long as you install the 64-bit version of Windows, it can utilize all of your RAM. 2011 iMac can take up to 32GB (4x8GB) though 12GB should be plenty.
     
  3. secretanchitman macrumors 6502

    secretanchitman

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #3
    it'll recognize all 12GB.

    on a side note, my 4x4GB (16GB) is on its way and should be here today!
     
  4. doxavita thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #4
    I recall reading 16GB was the limit for windows 7, but that source could well have been wrong.

    I most likely will run windows 7 64-bit, so 12GB should be fine then.
    What is the RAM limit for 32-bit windows 7?
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Apparently Home Premium has 16GB RAM limit: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa366778(v=vs.85).aspx

    8GB modules are so expensive though so don't worry about 16GB being a bottleneck. 12GB will work fine.
     
  6. doxavita thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #6
    And Boot Camp can install Windows 7 64-bit without a problem, right? (which I'll then link to Parallels like I mentioned)

    Also, does it matter if I first install Windows 7 and then the RAM, or the other way around works too?, or it doesn't really matter?
     
  7. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #7
    It can indeed, I'm running the very same setup.

    Windows 7 professional with parallels 6, running apps in Coherence mode on the OSX desktop.

    Works fine with 4 gigs of RAM and I just got 8 extra gigs today, so I'm sure it'll fly after I insert this.
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    Doesn't matter. W7 should utilize the RAM immediately. You may want to check Parallels' settings though to make sure the RAM allocation is what you want.
     
  9. doxavita thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #9
    And for using the iMac's complete power when gaming, Boot Camp is still the better option than Parallels 6?
     
  10. smoge, Jun 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2011

    smoge macrumors regular

    smoge

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    #10
    iMac only supports up to 16gb on apple webpage up to 4gb SO-DIMM in each slot
     
  11. Dresevski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesnowda
    #11
    It can support 1600MHz RAM unlike what the website says...
     
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    Definitely. Virtualization is horrible for gaming.
     
  13. Sjhonny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    The land of the cucumbers
    #13
    You could look out for cider ports. Not always released by the developers, but they offer nearly the same performance as there windows counterpart.
     

Share This Page