What's the point of mission control if the windows hide the desktops?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by jonathanc, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. jonathanc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #1
    As you can see when I go into mission control, the app store window is covering the desktops, so I can't get at them

    What's the story?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    Mission Control basically organizes/manages your application and it's windows so you don't have windows everywhere (like it was in Leopard/Snow Leopard) and allows access to them. It does what it's advertised to do, what's the problem you're having?

    EDIT: I see what you're saying. You don't mean the ACTUAL desktop but the desktop spaces. That's not suppose to happen, the windows are suppose to be centred below the spaces. This was happening to some people. Does it happen to you all the time? As of right now, there is no fix - you'll have to wait for Apple to acknowledge/address this.
     
  3. jonathanc, Jul 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011

    jonathanc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #3
    It happens when I have 2 apps open, any more and it goes to small groups

    [​IMG]
     
  4. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #4
    That is definitely a bug. It doesn't do that for me.
     
  5. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #5
    You'll have to wait for 10.7.1 - pretty sure it'll get addressed there. Also, did you upgrade to Lion or did you do a clean install? I'm finding that those with the problem are upgrading so perhaps there's some correlation? Maybe not.
     
  6. Salukipilot4590 macrumors 6502

    Salukipilot4590

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    It's a bug. It was even mentioned in the GM threads as a bug.

    Can't believe it wasn't fixed.
     
  7. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    i'm afraid this is probably a graphic error on ur machine
     
  8. TrickyRick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #8
    A question about your Safari: Do you have several windows or does it show your tabs? I know it showed tabs in their WWDC demo but I can't figure out how to get that working :S
     
  9. jonathanc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #9
    Found an additional problem. When I go to drag the App store onto desktop to then then safari and aperture jump into the layout of my first picture, so I can't set the drag and drop down.
     
  10. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
  11. Genocide macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #11
    The problems you have brought up are known issues with the OS and should be fixed in 10.7.1.
     
  12. jonathanc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #12
    It's a bad job when one of the highlight features of Lion is riddled with bugs.

    What have they been doing all these months?
     
  13. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #13
    Preparing for 10.7.1 :D
     
  14. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
  15. Dale Sorel macrumors 6502a

    Dale Sorel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    #15
    Well, 10.7.1 didn't fix it... here's hoping 10.7.2 will :cool:
     
  16. baryon macrumors 68040

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #16
    Have you rebooted and unchecked "Reopen windows"? That can solve some problems.
     
  17. Dale Sorel macrumors 6502a

    Dale Sorel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    #17
    I haven't tried that, but I have found that sometimes you can make the windows behave themselves by moving your mouse pointer to another part of the screen. It seems that if you move the pointer to the bottom of the screen, a lot of the time the windows will get out of the way.
     
  18. MartiNZ macrumors 65816

    MartiNZ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #18
    Ahh and so begins that process we get with every release. I waited 10.4.0 through 10.7.0 saying maybe the iTunes Dashboard Widget would be fixed ... and even then people mourned its loss :eek:. To me I was finally right, and had one thing less to complain about. Of course, Lion introduced hundreds of new things to complain about, so I'm going to be grateful to get my crashy iTunes widget back when I go back. There's no more going forward at this point - maybe by 10.10.0 by my calculations.
     
  19. nightfly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    #19
    It does this on mission control when you put all your windows centered.. As in you set your itunes window centered and finder window centered...

    temporary solution just move one of your window either one pixel to the left or right :)
     

Share This Page