Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nospleen

macrumors 68030
Dec 8, 2002
Texas
It is a program that allowes you to read magazines. I have a digital subscription to Macworld and I read it via zinio.

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
I believe if you register your Mac online, you can get the free Macworld subscription in Zinio. You may also be able to get it in paper. Somewhere or other, I also got a free Businessweek subscription somehow. Every once in a while those e-mail lists like techbargains.com list a free subscription from somewhere or other. Mostly tech and business magazines, but apparently other things are also available.

The quality is actually pretty good, although the software is a little slow.

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Originally posted by abhishekit
zinio is pretty cool...with the flipping of the pages and stuff...but i had to download it..how come it came with ur mac..:rolleyes:

'Cuz everybody likes me. :D

If it makes you feel better, though, I originally tried to get it in December on my PC, when I got the free BW subscription, and the PC version crashed continuously on me -- it never actually got as far as opening the magazine. :(

On my iBook it works like a charm...I wonder if it will take off as a format? It sounds like Apple has only recently started putting it on PCs, and I hadn't even heard of it until about two months ago.

abhishekit

macrumors 65816
Nov 6, 2003
akron , ohio
Originally posted by onealc
What would be the difference in this format, and something like pdf?
well..the main differnce its just visual i guess..with zinio..its exactly as you are reading a book online..

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Originally posted by onealc
What would be the difference in this format, and something like pdf?