When they say the OS is "locked" at 3.0 after installation how "locked" is it really?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Kahnyl, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #1
    Is there any way (like DFU mode) to downgrade to a stable release? I guess there isn't an official way now to downgrade the firmware so maybe it's just a stupid question. I have a test device but if it's stable enough at some point I'll probably want to install it on my main unit.
     
  2. joshysquashy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    When the firmware is updated to 3.0, a new version of the baseband is also installed, probably for new bluetooth, mms functionality etc. Whilst you can downgrade the firmware, its no simple task to downgrade the baseband, and not something apple ever allows.

    So you probably can downgrade, but will loose phone functionality on an iPhone, and I'm not sure how it would affect an iPod Touch.
     
  3. Kahnyl thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #3
    Right, I forgot about the baseband completely. I've never downgraded before so this part's all new.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. Kahnyl thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #4
    Actually, one more question. I feel like such a noob asking this but once a device is locked into "testing mode" and then 3.0 is out of beta can it just be upgraded and be used as a regular device?
     
  5. stevespa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #5
    I had the same question, so don't feel too bad. I haven't been able to find an answer anywhere, though.
     
  6. rscott macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #6
    Of course it can. There is no real "testing mode" to speak of, it's just beta firmware is all.
     

Share This Page