Where can I locate a 3G 3.0 IPSW downloaded from iTunes?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Dohbrain, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. Dohbrain macrumors newbie

    Dohbrain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #1
    Where can I locate a 3G 3.0 IPSW downloaded from iTunes?
    I need to find is for redsn0w but I can't locate it in my Mac anywhere. I downloaded the firmware for iTunes but I can't locate it?
    Any help?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    ~username/Library/iTunes/iPod Software Updates/
     
  3. Dohbrain thread starter macrumors newbie

    Dohbrain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #3
    Thanks again. But I couldn't get into DFU mode or something like that. It said waiting for reboot and it didn't reboot.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Weird, try it again and see if it goes thru.
    Putting it in DFU mode is tricky at times, you gotta catch it at the right second or it wont do it.
     
  5. rspy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #5
    Actually, it's ~username/Library/iTunes/iPhone Software Updates/

    Which OSX version are you running? 10.5.7? Or still at 10.5.6?
     
  6. Dohbrain thread starter macrumors newbie

    Dohbrain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
  7. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    In order for the DFU Mode to work, make sure you are on Mac OS 10.5.7.
     
  8. Dohbrain thread starter macrumors newbie

    Dohbrain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #8
    Ok, I'll update and try again.
    Do I HAVE to choose Icy or Cydia?
    What happens if I don't choose either?
     
  9. mackmgg macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #9
    I may be wrong, but you cannot choose Icy, and if you do not choose Cydia, It will jailbreak your iPhone without installing Cydia.
     
  10. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #10
    You need Cydia if you plan to unlock (3G). Icy has been causing some to have problems.
     
  11. Dohbrain thread starter macrumors newbie

    Dohbrain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #11
    K thanks. I'll try this. Will Cydia just be there as an app? Sorry I'm a bit new to this.
    I only really wanna unlock so I can use the 3G I purchased here in the UK. I don't want jailbroken apps.
     
  12. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #12

Share This Page