Which iPhone? struggling

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bitteorca, Jul 15, 2010.

1. bitteorca macrumors newbie

Hey,

I am a student with a part-time job. I obviously have limited moneyz!

I was wondering whether you could help me. My friend has offered me his white iphone 3g 16gb for £180. At first I thought that this would be a good idea. Cheaper than iphone 4, and I can use it as an ipod as well (my ipod is in need of upgrading!).

Pro's of getting the old 3G:

Cheaper

Can be on pay-as-you go (if I am short of money one month, I'm not locked down)

Cons:

I've heard massive problems with IOS4 being installed on it. Thankfully he hasn't done it yet so I could just leave it

Related to above, would staying on IOS3 prohibit me from doing things in the future? Would my iphone become obsolete in too short of a time period?

Battery life: I want to use it as an ipod as well sometimes, but is this realistic? My friends with one tell me the battery life is basically useless if you are going to be using it for ipod use and phone use. I could just buy a dock to easily place it in and charge when I get home but still.

Iphone 4:

Cons:

Its way to expensive. I don't even have a full time job. It would sap quite a lot of my money (initial cost, monthly cost, phone insurance)

Pros:

It's obviously better (But, do i realllyyyy need the additional pro's when I haven't got the cash to back it up?!)

There's also another option: just get a cheap rubbish phone. Material wealth and chasing products doesn't result in happiness haha. I'm also not a point in my life where I'm away from home much, and hence do I really need the features on the iphone?! I'm sure I'd appreciate it if I worked full time etc but i'm not at that stage in my life

If you could point me in the right direction and offer advice it would be much appreciated

Thanks guys

2. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

Knowlege Bomb